Home |   About OHS |   Press Room |  Press Release

Press Release

April 22, 2014

Chad Williams

Oklahoma History Center Opens "'On Behalf of the Pioneers': The Oklahoma Century Chest 1913-2013" Exhibit

OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. -- On April 22, 2014, the Oklahoma History Center will open "'On Behalf of the Pioneers': The Oklahoma Century Chest 1913-2013," a new exhibit featuring the priceless treasures recovered from the Oklahoma Century Chest. The Century Chest time capsule was buried on April 22, 1913, in the basement of the First Lutheran Church of Oklahoma City. One hundred years later, on April 22, 2013, the church opened the chest and revealed the perfectly preserved contents deposited by the pioneers of Oklahoma. The exhibit opening marks the 125th anniversary of the Oklahoma Land Run of 1889.

Visitors can view never-before-seen photographs, documents and American Indian artifacts and hear Oklahoma pioneer Angelo C. Scott's speech delivered at the burial of the chest in 1913. The exhibit also includes the 1889 poster promoting the first Fourth of July celebration in Oklahoma City on July 4, 1889, a letter to the blind of 2013 written in braille, the First State Flag of Oklahoma, the pen used by President William McKinley to sign the Free Homes Bill for Oklahoma and a 1913 bird's-eye view photograph of Oklahoma City showing the city like never before. In addition the exhibit contains dozens of messages, prophecies and letters from the pioneers of 1913 to their descendants 100 years later. Oklahoma History Center museum hours are Monday-Saturday 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. and is located across from the State Capitol Building at 800 Nazih Zuhdi Drive in Oklahoma City. Call 405-522-0765 for more information or visit http://www.okhistory.org/centurychest/.

⇐ Back to the press room