Home > about >  Press Release

01/07/15

NEWS RELEASE

Contact: Adam Lynn
Chisholm Trail Museum, Oklahoma Historical Society
Office: 405-375-5176
ctmus@pldi.net
www.ctokmuseum.org, www.okhistory.org/chisholmtrail

Permanent TG&Y Exhibit to Open at the Chisholm Trail Museum

Kingfisher, Okla. -- The Chisholm Trail Museum is honored to announce that, due to the overwhelmingly positive support and requests from those interested in preserving the rich history of TG&Y, the museum will open a permanent exhibit on Saturday, January 17, at 1 p.m. taken from recent, generous donations by past TG&Y employees who toured the temporary exhibit in 2014. The exhibit will display original TG&Y items and memorabilia from stores across Oklahoma and surrounding states. In addition, the rich history of TG&Y will be displayed along with photographs and memorabilia spanning from the 1930s through the 1980s. The museum is proud to host this exhibit for all TG&Y enthusiasts and past employees for years to come.

Kingfisher is directly connected to the history of TG&Y, as Raymond A. Young (the Y of TG&Y) started his venture into the retail business in 1927 with the opening of his first store, R.A. Young Co. 5c to $1.00 Stores,in the small farming community of Kingfisher. Young's future success was due in large part to the effects of his poor childhood working on a small farm near Stillwater in the early 1900s. Influenced by his mother's desire that all of her children would attend college and earn degrees, Young channeled the lessons of hard work and strength from his earlier years toward his studies at Oklahoma A&M, now Oklahoma State University. Young joined forces with two other small-town Oklahoma natives, E. L. Tomlinson and Les Gosselin, to eventually co-own the TG&Y Stores. After retirement, Young was inducted into the Oklahoma Hall of Fame and was instrumental in the expansion and development of Oklahoma City in the 1960s and 1970s. TG&Y and Raymond A. Young will be featured in the exhibit, with special attention given to his instrumental influence in the greater history of Oklahoma and United States.

After touring the TG&Y exhibit, visitors are encouraged to tour the rest of the museum where they will learn the histories of Jesse Chisholm, the Chisholm Trail, the Land Run of 1889, and early territorial and statehood days in Kingfisher and Kingfisher County. There is also a Victorian Era historical site on the museum grounds with five original historical structures, including two original log cabins, the first bank building in Kingfisher, an original one-room school house and a one-room rural church. Additionally, visitors can enjoy a guided tour of the Governor Seay Mansion that was owned by the second territorial governor of Oklahoma, Abraham Jefferson Seay. This beautiful, Victorian Era home is decorated in the Victorian style with original, handcrafted crown molding and pocket doors. The home is furnished with many of Governor Seay's original belongings.

For more information about the Kingfisher Chisholm Trail Museum and to follow upcoming events and programs, please visit www.ctokmuseum.org, like the museum on Facebook or call 405-375-5176. The Governor Seay Mansion and Chisholm Trail Museum are located at 605 Zellers Ave. in Kingfisher. Hours of operation are Tuesday through Saturday, 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. (closed major holidays). Admission to the museum is $4 for adults, $2 for children and $3 for seniors. For more information about Kingfisher and Kingfisher County, please visit the Kingfisher Chamber of Commerce website at www.kingfisher.org.

The Chisholm Trail Museum is an affiliate of the Oklahoma Historical Society. The mission of the Oklahoma Historical Society is to collect, preserve and share the history and culture of the state of Oklahoma. Founded in 1893 by members of the Territorial Press Association, the OHS maintains 31 museums, historic sites and affiliates across the state. Through its research archives, exhibits, educational programs and publications the OHS chronicles the rich history of Oklahoma. For more information visit www.okhistory.org.





Back to the OHS Press Room