Home |   About OHS |   Press Room |  Press Release

Press Release

July 23, 2018

Contact: Sara Werneke
State Historic Preservation Office, Oklahoma Historical Society
Office: 405-522-4478
Fax: 405-522-0816
swerneke@okhistory.org
www.okhistory.org/shpo

New Oklahoma National Register Listings

OKLAHOMA CITY — The Oklahoma Historical Society, State Historic Preservation Office (SHPO) is pleased to announce the newest National Register of Historic Places listing for Oklahoma. The National Register of Historic Places is our nation’s official list of properties significant in our past.

The Cheairs Furniture Company Building, located at 537 S. Kenosha Ave. in Tulsa, is significant in the area of Commerce for its association with commercial growth and development in downtown Tulsa. It also is associated with the rise of the furniture industry in Tulsa. The Cheairs Furniture Company was founded during the middle of the Great Depression when many other furniture companies were closing. The building is an excellent tribute to 1930s commercial growth in downtown Tulsa and one of the surviving buildings in the area.

Listing in the National Register is an honorific designation that provides recognition, limited protection and, in some cases, financial incentives for these important properties. The SHPO identifies, evaluates and nominates properties for this special designation.

The State Historic Preservation Office is a division of the Oklahoma Historical Society. The mission of the Oklahoma Historical Society is to collect, preserve and share the history and culture of the state of Oklahoma. Founded in 1893 by members of the Territorial Press Association, the OHS maintains museums, historic sites and affiliates across the state. Through its research archives, exhibits, educational programs and publications the OHS chronicles the rich history of Oklahoma. For more information about the OHS, please visit www.okhistory.org.

###

Editor’s Note: Photographs to accompany the story can be acquired by contacting the State Historic Preservation Office at 405-522-4478.





⇐ Back to the press room