Home > History Center > Education > History Day >  General Information

General Information

Background

National History Day is a curriculum and program that provides the framework for students to read, research, write, and present their findings to the public. Students work on projects through their school or as home school students and then present their work at district, state, and even national contests. At each step students receive feedback from judges allowing them to improve projects and gain useful experience interacting with historians, museum professionals, and others along the way.

Student Categories

Students who participate in National History Day have multiple choices for presenting their research in creative form. Students can compete as individuals or in groups. In addition, students are broken into the junior division (grades 6, 7, 8) and senior division (grades 9, 10, 11, 12) to help keep the contest competitive. Below are descriptions of each category.
You may enter one of nine categories:

  • paper (individual only)
  • individual exhibit
  • group exhibit
  • individual performance
  • group performance
  • individual documentary
  • group documentary
  • individual website
  • group website
Each category in each division is judged separately. Groups may include from 2 to 5 students. Group participants do not have to be in the same grade to compete together, but they must be in the same division.

Rules

In order to ensure students across the country participate in a fair contest that judges students equally, National History Day sets the rules and guidelines for all participating entries. All judges are familiar with the rules.

Read the rules...

Before you begin work on an entry for competition, you, your teacher, and your parents should carefully read the National History Day Contest Rule Book. Please note the current Contest Rule Book was revised in 2010/2011.

District Competitions

Oklahoma is broken into 10 Districts. District contests determine who is eligible to participate in the state contest. Teachers planning to participate in the Oklahoma History Day contest should establish contact with their District Contest Coordinator in order to be notified about entry deadlines, entry fees, other contest details, and what, if any, special awards will be made at their District Contest.

District 1
Currently combined with District 2

District 2
Southwestern Oklahoma State University
Dr. John Hayden
580-447-7072
john.hayden@swosu.edu

District 3
Oklahoma Christian University
Dr. John Maple
405-425-5454
john.maple@oc.edu

District 4
Currently inactive.

District 5
Oklahoma State University
Dr. Bill Bryans
405-744-8179
bill.bryans@okstate.edu

District 6
East Central University
Dr. Houston Mount
580-332-8000
hmount@eocok.edu

District 7
Tulsa Community College
Professor Pat Trusty
918-595-7714
ptrusty@tulsacc.edu

District 8
Northeastern State University
Professor Randall Wagnon
918-444-3518
wagnon@nsuok.edu

District 9
Southeastern Oklahoma State University
Professor Corie Delashaw
580-924-0121
cdelashaw@sosu.edu

District 10
Northeastern Oklahoma A&M College
Dr. David Loving
918-540-6346
dloving@neo.edu

State Competition

Students who place at the District Contests advance each spring to the State Contest held at the Oklahoma History Center. The State Contest is held the first Wednesday and Thursday of May.

Sarah Dumas
Oklahoma History Center
405-522-0791
sdumas@okhistory.org

Rachel Kellum
Oklahoma History Center
405-522-0793
rkellum@okhistory.org