Home > shpo > Events >  Historic Preservation Review Committee

Historic Preservation Review Committee

Established in 1969 as a part of the State of Oklahoma's participation in the newly created federal preservation programs, the Committee membership is composed of citizen members as well as professionals in the areas of history, architecture, architectural history, historic archeology, and prehistoric archeology. The Committee provides comments to the State Historic Preservation Officer about proposed nominations to the National Register of Historic Places and other preservation issues as appropriate. Additionally, the committee comments on nominations to the State Register of Historic Places.

2014 Meeting Schedule

Thursday, January 16, 2014 - 1:30pm
Thursday, April 17, 2014 - 1:30pm
Thursday, July 17, 2014 - 1:30pm
Thursday, October 16, 2014 - 1:30pm

Location: All meetings are held in the Oklahoma Historical Society Boardroom, 3rd floor, Oklahoma History Center, 800 Nazih Zuhdi Drive, Oklahoma City, OK 73105.

Current Historic Preservation Review Committee (HPRC) members (as of November 2012) include William P. Corbett (Historian, Tahlequah); Ron Frantz (Architect, Oklahoma City); John D. Hartley (Prehistoric Archeologist, Norman); Arn Henderson (Architectural Historian, Norman) ; and Charles S. Wallis (Historical Archeologist, Norman).

October 16, 2014

The regular quarterly meeting of the Historic Preservation Review Committee (HPRC) will be held at 1:30pm on Thursday, October 16, 2014. The HPRC will meet in the LeRoy H. Fischer Boardroom, Oklahoma History Center (Third Floor), 800 Nazih Zuhdi Drive, Oklahoma City, OK. The public is invited to attend. (NOTE: If you are a person with a disability and require an accommodation, please contact Melvena Heisch at 405/522-4484 or mheisch@okhistory.org by 12:00 Noon on Wednesday, October 15, 2014, so that we can make the arrangements.)


  1. Call to Order
  2. Introductions
  3. Approval of the Historic Preservation Review Committee's July 2014 Minutes
  4. Formulation of Recommendations to the State Historic Preservation Officer Concerning Proposed Nominations to the National Register of Historic Places:
    1. Kennedy Mansion, 502 South Okmulgee Avenue, Okmulgee, Okmulgee County (Nomination)
    2. Union School District 19 Ĺ, SW corner of 149th Street and S. Luther Road, Newalla, Cleveland County (Nomination)
    3. Town House Hotel, 627 Northwest Fifth Street, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma County (Nomination)
    4. Millerís Boulevard Historic District, Bounded by NW 16th St., N Villa Ave., Rear Lot Lines/Alley South of W Park Pl., and N May Ave, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma County (Nomination)
    5. Main Street Arcade, 629 West Main Street, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma County (Nomination)
    6. Oklahoma A& M College Dairy Barn, 2624 West McElroy Rd, Stillwater, Payne County (Nomination)
    7. Fox Hotel, 201 East W.C. Rogers Boulevard, Skiatook, Tulsa County (Nomination)
    8. Bacone College Historic District, Old Bacone Road, Muskogee, Muskogee County (Nomination)
  5. Other Business:
    1. Update on Revision of Tomorrow's Legacy: Oklahoma's Statewide Preservation Plan
    2. Historic Preservation Review Committee's Input for development of the FY 2015 Historic Preservation Fund application to the National Park Service
    3. Upcoming Events
  6. Adjournment

Nominations Awaiting National Park Service Approval

October 2012 Historic Preservation Review Committee Meeting

Tulsa Race Riot of 1921 (Greenwood Historic District), Tulsa, Tulsa County

Nominations Officially Determined Eligible but Not Listed

Ardmore Presbyterian Church, Ardmore, Carter County

Beth Israel Temple, Muskogee, Muskogee County

Mummers Theater (Stage Center), Oklahoma City, Oklahoma County