Home > shpo > Events >  Historic Preservation Review Committee

Historic Preservation Review Committee

Established in 1969 as a part of the State of Oklahoma's participation in the newly created federal preservation programs, the Committee membership is composed of citizen members as well as professionals in the areas of history, architecture, architectural history, historic archeology, and prehistoric archeology. The Committee provides comments to the State Historic Preservation Officer about proposed nominations to the National Register of Historic Places and other preservation issues as appropriate. Additionally, the committee comments on nominations to the State Register of Historic Places.

2015 Meeting Schedule

Thursday, January 15, 2015 - 1:30pm
Thursday, April 16, 2015 - 1:30pm
Thursday, July 16, 2015 - 1:30pm
Thursday, October 15, 2015 - 1:30pm

Location: All meetings are held in the Oklahoma Historical Society Boardroom, 3rd floor, Oklahoma History Center, 800 Nazih Zuhdi Drive, Oklahoma City, OK 73105.

Current Historic Preservation Review Committee (HPRC) members (as of November 2012) include William P. Corbett (Historian, Tahlequah); Ron Frantz (Architect, Oklahoma City); John D. Hartley (Prehistoric Archeologist, Norman); Arn Henderson (Architectural Historian, Norman) ; and Charles S. Wallis (Historical Archeologist, Norman).


(Click map for PDF)

  • Comer, C.A., House, 1316 North Creek, Dewey, Washington County (Nomination)
  • Hays-Kennedy/Rivoli Theater Building, 122-124 South Main, Blackwell, Kay County (Nomination)
  • Elizabeth Manor, 1820 South Boulder Avenue West, Tulsa, Tulsa County (Nomination)
  • Czech Hall of Oklahoma City, 515 Southwest 6th Street, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma County (Nomination)

Nominations Awaiting National Park Service Approval

January 2015 Historic Preservation Review Committee Meeting

First Church of Christ Scientist, 300 North 3rd Street, Ponca City, Kay County (Nomination)
St. John Baptist Church and Rectory, 1009 South Eleventh Street, Ponca City, Kay County (Nomination)
Oklahoma Iron Works/Bethlehem Supply Company Building, 118 North Lansing Avenue, Tulsa, Tulsa County (Nomination)
McAlester Downtown Historic District, McAlester, Pittsburg County (Nomination)
Oklahoma City National Memorial, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma County (Nomination)

October 2012 Historic Preservation Review Committee Meeting

Tulsa Race Riot of 1921 (Greenwood Historic District), Tulsa, Tulsa County

Nominations Officially Determined Eligible but Not Listed

Ardmore Presbyterian Church, Ardmore, Carter County

Beth Israel Temple, Muskogee, Muskogee County

Mummers Theater (Stage Center), Oklahoma City, Oklahoma County