Home > SHPO > Events >  Special Events

JULY 16, 2015

The regular quarterly meeting of the Historic Preservation Review Committee (HPRC) will be held at 1:30pm on Thursday, July 16, 2015. The HPRC will meet in the LeRoy H. Fischer Boardroom, Oklahoma History Center (Third Floor), 800 Nazih Zuhdi Drive, Oklahoma City, OK. The public is invited to attend. (NOTE: If you are a person with a disability and require an accommodation, please contact Melvena Heisch at 405/522-4484 or mheisch@okhistory.org by 12:00 Noon on Wednesday, July 15, 2015.


  1. Call to Order
  2. Introductions
  3. Approval of the Historic Preservation Review Committee's April 2015 Minutes
  4. Formulation of Recommendations to the State Historic Preservation Officer Concerning Proposed Nominations to the National Register of Historic Places
    1. KCS Railway Depot, 1 South Highway 59, Stilwell, Adair County (Nomination)
    2. Fuksa Portion of the Chisholm Trail Roadbed, Address Restricted, Bison vicinity, Garfield County (Nomination)
    3. James Martin Baggs Log Barn, West Side of N4480 Road, Pickens vicinity, Pushmataha County (Nomination)
    4. Seminole Municipal Building, 401 North Main Street, Seminole, Seminole County (Nomination)
    5. Sally Ann Apartments, 1309-1313 & 1310-1314 South Jackson Avenue, Tulsa, Tulsa County (Nomination)
  5. Other Business:
    1. Historic Preservation Review Committee's Role in Developing the FY 2016 Historic Preservation Fund Application
    2. Route 66: The Road Ahead Initiative Workshop, July 23, 2015
    3. Oklahoma Archeology Month, October 2015
    4. State Historic Preservation Office Calendar of Events 2015-2016
  6. Adjournment

(Click map for PDF)


As of July 1, 2013, 1,227 Oklahoma buildings, structures, districts, sites, objects, and landscapes are listed in the National Register of Historic Places, and the listings are distributed across all of the state's seventy-seven counties (see the list at http://www.okhistory.org/shpo/nationalregister.htm). The State Historic Preservation Office (SHPO), Oklahoma Historical Society, identifies and nominates properties for this special designation, which contributes to their preservation. To ensure that the heritage of all of the state's people is represented in the National Register and to increase public awareness of historic properties in general, the SHPO set a goal to achieve listing for at least five properties in each county.

We are very close to meeting our goal and need only ten more listings spread among six counties as follows:

Cotton County (2 listings needed)

Dewey County (1 listing needed)

Harmon County (1 listing needed)

McClain County (2 listings needed)

Major County (3 listings needed)

To help in the final push to meet the goal, you can complete the SHPO's "Historic Preservation Resource Identification Form" located at http://www.okhistory.org/shpo/nrprelim.htm (then select Form Required for Preliminary Opinion) and submit to the SHPO. Or, you may contact Lynda Ozan, National Register Coordinator, at 405/522-4478 or lozan@okhistory.org with your questions or to request a hard copy of the form.

We will appreciate your help to ensure that the heritage of the entire state is represented in Oklahoma's National Register listings. The SHPO nominates properties to the National Register on a quarterly basis, and several nominations are in process at any one time. Whether a property you think qualifies for the designation is located in an underrepresented county or not, the SHPO wants to hear from you.