Home |   About OHS |  Oklahoma Historians Hall of Fame Induction and Awards Ceremony

Oklahoma Historians Hall of Fame Induction and Annual Awards Ceremony

Premiering Friday, April 23, at 1 p.m.
Each year, the Oklahoma Historical Society recognizes authors, students, educators, historians, and organizations making significant contributions to the preservation and sharing of Oklahoma history. This year’s online program will honor Oklahoma Historians Hall of Fame inductees for 2020 and 2021 as well as annual award recipients.

Oklahoma Historians Hall of Fame Inductees, 2020
Cassandra Gaines
Melvena Heisch
Gaston Litton
Steve Ripley

Oklahoma Historians Hall of Fame Inductees, 2021
Bruce Fisher
Jack Frank

Outstanding Book on Oklahoma History
Breaking Down Barriers: George McLaurin and the
Struggle to End Segregated Education by David W. Levy,
University of Oklahoma Press

Outstanding Thesis on Oklahoma History
“Culture on the Prairie: Celebrating Oklahoma’s Art
Museums and Their Contributors in the Twentieth
Century” by Bradley Fritch, University of Central

Muriel H. Wright Award
“‘An Appeal to Reason’: Women’s Suffrage in Oklahoma
and Indian Territories, 1890–1907” by Linda Wilson
The Chronicles of Oklahoma (Volume 98, No. 2)

Joseph B. Thoburn Student Historian Award
Priya George, Jenks High School

William D. Pennington Teacher Award
Greg Oppel, Edmond Memorial High School

Outstanding Regional Historical Museum
National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum

Outstanding Local OHS Support Group
Oklahoma Genealogical Society