Home |   About OHS |  Historical Marker Program

OHS Historical Marker Program

If you would like to learn more about the OHS Historical Marker Program or how to submit an application, please visit the OHS Historical Marker Program page.

Marker Application Process

Search Results

Your search returned 9 results.

Dave Blue Trading Post
Cleveland County
Dave Blue was a trader in the 1870s who hired Cherokee and Creeks to kill wild buffalo. Blue shipped the hides to Atoka for transportation to market in the eastern United States. Blue's trading post was built along the Arbuckle Cattle Trail.
Located on OK-9 in Norman

March of the Dragoons
Cleveland County
Captain Nathan Boone, son of pioneer legend Daniel Boone, led 100 men and officers on an expedition to gather information about the Plains Indians. The 1843 expedition camped near this site.
Located on US-77 in Noble just south of Maguire Road

Norman's Camp
Cleveland County
This is the camp site of Abner Norman, a member of an 1873 survey party in Indian Territory. Members of his party burned "Norman's Camp" into a large elm at the site. The Norman Station was on the Santa Fe Railroad (1886–1889) and later the town of Norman took his name.
Located on US-77, 1/2 mile north of intersection with OK-9

Oklahoma's Pioneer Oil City
Cleveland County
On July 2, 1904, the Lowery #1 came in just south of Cleveland, opening the Cleveland Sand and creating Oklahoma's first oil boom town. Here also was Jordan's Fort, built in 1886 by Colonel J. W. Jordan, Cherokee agent and deputy US marshal, to keep Boomers out of the Cherokee Outlet.

Run of '89 South Boundary
Cleveland County
The South Canadian River was the south boundary line for the Unassigned Lands in central Oklahoma opened to settlement on April 22, 1889, in the first of five land runs in Oklahoma.
Located on US-77 at east end of South Canadian River bridge in Lexington

The City of Norman and the Cleveland County Historical Museum
Cleveland County
Constructed in 1895, six years after the 1889 Run, this house, known as the Harry Lindsey Home, has been restored as a classic example of pre-statehood architecture.

The Jacobson House
Cleveland County
The home of Swedish born artist Oscar B. Jacobson and Jeanne d'Ucel became a center for international celebrities, artists and writers from 1918–1966. Jacobson, director of the OU School of Art from 1915–1945, revolutionized art education in Oklahoma. He is also credited with nurturing the "renaissance" of American Indian painting on the Southern Plains in the 1920s.
Located 609 Chautauqua, Norman

University of Oklahoma
Cleveland County
The University of Oklahoma was established by the first Territorial Legislature in 1890 and classes began in 1892. Cleveland County, Oklahoma Territory, contributed $10,000 and citizens of Norman donated forty acres for the campus. David Ross Boyd was the first president.
Located at 206 West Main in Norman

Washington Irving Campsite
Cleveland County
Noted American author Washington Irving and his party camped near Norman on his tour of the prairies in 1832, giving the outside world its first glimpse at the land that would become Oklahoma.
Located on OK-9 in Little Axe Park ten miles east of Norman (DAR)

(Page 1 of 1)

Search for Markers

Search by keyword or browse by county to learn about more than 600 historical markers created to recognize key locations, events, and people in Oklahoma history.

Please note that some markers listed in this database may have been moved, damaged, or are no longer standing.

Browse by County

Le Flore County
Lincoln County
Logan County
Love County
Major County
Marshall County
Mayes County
McClain County
McCurtain County
McIntosh County
Murray County
Muskogee County
Noble County
Nowata County
Okfuskee County
Oklahoma County
Okmulgee County
Osage County
Ottawa County
Pawnee County
Payne County
Pittsburg County
Pontotoc County
Pottawatomie County
Pushmataha County
Roger Mills County
Rogers County
Seminole County
Sequoyah County
Stephens County
Texas County
Tillman County
Tulsa County
Wagoner County
Washington County
Washita County
Woods County
Woodward County