Home |   About OHS |  Historical Marker Program

Historical Marker Program

If you would like to learn more about the Oklahoma Historical Society Historical Marker Program or how to submit an application, please visit the OHS Historical Marker Program page.

Marker Application Process

Search Results

Your search returned 6 results.

Buffalo Springs
Garfield County
Location: on US-81, 1 1/2 miles north of Bison
Material: Aluminum
The springs were a favorite rest stop on the Chisholm Trail on long cattle drives from Texas to Kansas. A pioneer merchant, trader, and explorer, Jesse Chisholm, a mixed-blood Cherokee, established the trail through western Indian Territory before the Civil War. Texas cattlemen used the trail until the late 1880s to move millions of cattle to northern markets. The trail ran from Montague County, Texas, to Abilene, Kansas. Buffalo Springs was an important gathering place for settlers making the land run on April 22, 1889.

Cherokee Strip
Garfield County
Location: on US-81 near Garfield-Kingfisher County line south of Bison
Material: Aluminum
The 1893 opening of the Cherokee Strip was the largest opening of Indian lands to settlement in American history. The 6.5 million acres now comprise parts of eleven counties in northern Oklahoma east of the 100th Meridian. The area is officially known in government records as the Cherokee Outlet. On September 16, 1893, thousands of 160-acre homesteads dotted the land hours after the opening.

Enid High School Observatory
Garfield County
Location: 500 S. Independence, Enid, OK 73701
Material: Aluminum
The observatory at Enid High School has been an inspiration to generations of local students. Now called the Dr. Nancy Currie-Gregg Observatory, the roof-top facility was the brainchild of Jim Smeltzer, a young physics teacher. Through his efforts, funding for the observatory was obtained in 1962 through the National Defense Education Act (NDEA), a Cold War-era federal program established in response to the Soviet Union’s launch of the Sputnik I satellite in 1957. The NDEA sought to strengthen science and technological training in America’s schools and ignited what came to be known as the Space Race. With the dome’s construction in 1963 and the installation of an eight-inch telescope in 1965, Enid became the only high school observatory in Oklahoma. Astronomy curriculum created by Smeltzer brought both state and national attention to the district. Through the years, students viewing the night sky from this place have become astronomers, physicists, educators, engineers, researchers, and doctors, among many pursuits. Dr. Currie-Gregg was a NASA Astronaut who flew four times on the Space Shuttle. In 2017 she and her husband, Tim, an EHS alumnus, led the community-wide effort to preserve and modernize this important educational resource.

Government Springs
Garfield County
Location: at northwest corner of Government Springs Park in Enid (DAR)
Government Springs was a camping place on the Chisholm Trail used originally by Indians and later by all travelers. See Buffalo Springs.

Horse Watering Trough
Garfield County
Location: at intersection of East Maine Street and South Grand Avenue in Enid (DAR)
The solid granite trough was originally located in the public square in downtown Enid and was used through the decades as a place to water thirsty horses and later as the center of a children's wading pool.

Northwestern Academy
Garfield County
Location: in City Park in Carrier (DAR)
Northwestern Academy opened in 1898 under the auspices of the Congregational Home Missionary Society of Boston, Massachusetts. A three-story building was the prominent structure of the school that was an important educational and religious center for twelve years.

(Page 1 of 1)

Search for Markers

Search by keyword or browse by county to learn about more than 600 historical markers created to recognize key locations, events, and people in Oklahoma history.

Please note that some markers listed in this database may have been moved, damaged, or are no longer standing.

Browse by County

Le Flore County
Lincoln County
Logan County
Love County
Major County
Marshall County
Mayes County
McClain County
McCurtain County
McIntosh County
Murray County
Muskogee County
Noble County
Nowata County
Okfuskee County
Oklahoma County
Okmulgee County
Osage County
Ottawa County
Pawnee County
Payne County
Pittsburg County
Pontotoc County
Pottawatomie County
Pushmataha County
Roger Mills County
Rogers County
Seminole County
Sequoyah County
Stephens County
Texas County
Tillman County
Tulsa County
Wagoner County
Washington County
Washita County
Woods County
Woodward County