Home |   About OHS |  Historical Marker Program

OHS Historical Marker Program

If you would like to learn more about the OHS Historical Marker Program or how to submit an application, please visit the OHS Historical Marker Program page.

Marker Application Process

Search Results

Your search returned 18 results.

48 Milepost Old State Line
Le Flore County
This site was forty-eight miles from Fort Smith on the military road that ran south to Texas.
Located on OK-1 just west of Arkansas border

Battle of Backbone Mountain
Le Flore County
Union forces, led by Major General James G. Blunt, and Confederate troops, commanded by Brigadier General William L. Cabell, skirmished here in September of 1863. On July 27, 1864, a Choctaw battalion under the command of Captain Jackson McCurtain defeated federal troops nearby.
Located on OK-112, one mile north of OK-120

Butterfield Overland Mail Route
Le Flore County
Located on US-271, south bank of Coal Creek, about 1/2 mile south of junction of US-271 and SHY31

Chief Mosholatubbee
Le Flore County
Chief Mosholatubbee was one of three Choctaw chiefs who signed early treaties with the United States, including the 1830 Treaty of Dancing Rabbit Creek, which provided for the removal of the Choctaws to Indian Territory. He moved with his people to a new home off the Fort Towson Road, north of Sugar Loaf Mountain, and died August 3, 1838. In his honor, the Choctaw Nation region from the Arkansas River to the Winding Stair Mountains was called Mosholatubbee District.
Located in Hall Cemetery south of Cameron on Raymond Adams Road

Choctaw Agency
Le Flore County
The first building to house Choctaw Indian agents at this location was completed in 1832. The village later was known as Skullyville where a new Choctaw constitution was adopted at a convention in 1857.
Located on US-271 east of Spiro

First Military Road
Le Flore County
Here, between 1874 and 1890, supply wagons, a daily stagecoach and the US mail moved over this earliest-known trail from Dodge City, Kansas, to Fort Elliott, Texas. The fort, first known as Cantonment on Sweetwater was established after the Kiowa, Comanche, and Cheyenne attack on Adobe Walls in June of 1874.
Located on US-271 on Whinding Stair Mountain about eight miles northeast of Talihina

Fort Coffee
Le Flore County
Named in honor of General John Coffee of Tennessee, Fort Coffee was established by the 7th Infantry on June 16, 1834, on the southern bank of the Arkansas River. Because of relative peace in the area, the fort was abandoned four years later. In 1842, the Choctaw Council established the Fort Coffee Academy for boys. Confederate forces used the barracks during the Civil War. However, Federal troops overran the post in October of 1863 and burned the main buildings.
Located on US-271 east of Spiro

Fort Smith/Fort Towson Military Road
Le Flore County
Over rugged terrain and through raging streams, Colonel Robert Bean blazed this frontier road which was constructed by Captain John Stuart in 1832. It was used to carry supplies and emigrants from Fort Smith to Fort Towson.
Located on OK-1 east of US-271 junction

John F. Kennedy Memorial
Le Flore County
This monument, commemorating the visit of President John F. Kennedy to Big Cedar, was erected under the auspices of the Knights of Columbus, who deeded shaft and land to the Oklahoma Historical Society on October 30, 1966.
Located in Big Cedar

Kiamichi Baptist Assembly
Le Flore County
Commemorates the founding of a campground and the Latimer Baptist Association in July 1941.
Located three miles north of Talihina (OBHC)

New Hope Academy
Le Flore County

Peter Conser House
Le Flore County
Peter Conser was a leader of the Choctaw Lighthorsemen and also served as a senator in the Choctaw Legislature. His home is restored to show life in the Choctaw Nation before statehood.
Located on US-59, four miles south and three miles west of Heavener

Reverend John Page
Le Flore County
A well-known missionary/circuit minister for the Southern Methodist Church, Page sometimes served as an interpreter in the Choctaw Nation. He was a Choctaw representative to the meeting that resulted in the Reconstruction Treaty of 1866. He was treasurer of the Choctaw Council and a judge on the supreme court of the Choctaw Nation.
Located on OK-112 south of Pocola

Reverend Willis F. Folsom
Le Flore County
Reverend Folsom, a Choctaw, was born in Mississippi and removed with his family to Indian Territory in the 1830s. After being educated, he served as an interpreter for white missionaries among the Choctaws and was ordained a deacon in the Methodist Episcopal Church South. He was a great frontier preacher whose influence was widespread among both whites and Choctaws.
Located on OK-112 south of Pocola

Reynolds Castle
Le Flore County
J.E. Reynolds was a Confederate veteran and pioneer rancher and merchant. His "castle" was built of stone, complete with turrets and two-foot thick walls. Reynolds was a delegate to the Sequoyah Convention, an attempt to create a separate Indian state of the Union.
Located at intersection of OK-112 and old OK-112

Le Flore County
Located 3/4 mile north of US-270 on black top road 1.6 miles east of Main Street in Spiro

Spiro Mounds
Le Flore County
Located at the Spiro Mounds Archaeological Center

Walker's Station
Le Flore County
Here was located a stage stand of the Butterfield Overland Mail Route, created under an Act of Congress on March 3, 1857. The first mail stage arrived here in September 1858, enroute to San Francisco. Service continued until the outbreak of the War Between the States.
Located at site of Old Choctaw Agnecy, about one and a half miles northeast of Spiro

(Page 1 of 1)

Search for Markers

Search by keyword or browse by county to learn about more than 600 historical markers created to recognize key locations, events, and people in Oklahoma history.

Please note that some markers listed in this database may have been moved, damaged, or are no longer standing.

Browse by County

Le Flore County
Lincoln County
Logan County
Love County
Major County
Marshall County
Mayes County
McClain County
McCurtain County
McIntosh County
Murray County
Muskogee County
Noble County
Nowata County
Okfuskee County
Oklahoma County
Okmulgee County
Osage County
Ottawa County
Pawnee County
Payne County
Pittsburg County
Pontotoc County
Pottawatomie County
Pushmataha County
Roger Mills County
Rogers County
Seminole County
Sequoyah County
Stephens County
Texas County
Tillman County
Tulsa County
Wagoner County
Washington County
Washita County
Woods County
Woodward County