Home |   About OHS |  Historical Marker Program

OHS Historical Marker Program

If you would like to learn more about the OHS Historical Marker Program or how to submit an application, please visit the OHS Historical Marker Program page.

Marker Application Process

Search Results

Your search returned 4 results.

Birthplace of the State of Oklahoma
McClain County
The first convention advocating the combining of Oklahoma and Indian territories into a single state was held at Purcell on September 13, 1893. Delegates to the convention sent their resolution to Congress, but no action was taken. Oklahoma was admitted to the Union fourteen years later.
Located in downtown Purcell

California Trail
McClain County
Caravans of gold seekers in the rush for California traveled this trail in spring 1849 under a military escort commanded by Captain R. B. Marcy. The route lay west from Fort Smith on the south side of the Arkansas and Canadian rivers across Oklahoma. The campground and spring, 3 miles west, was well known on this famous trail.
Located on US Highway 77 just south of Wayne

Camp Arbuckle
McClain County
Camp Arbuckle was established in May 1850 by Captain R. B. Marcy and Company D, 5th Infantry, the site was visited in 1849 by Marcy while escorting gold seekers to California. The post was moved in 1851 to a permanent site in Garvin County. Buildings then were occupied by Delawares under Black Beaver, famous chief and guide. An Indian town, known as Beaversville, existed there until Civil War days.
Located on SH 59, one mile west of Byars

James C. Nance Bridge
McClain County
James C. Nance was a member of the Oklahoma legislature and Purcell newspaper publisher.
Located on US-77 between Purcell and Lexington

(Page 1 of 1)

Search for Markers

Search by keyword or browse by county to learn about more than 600 historical markers created to recognize key locations, events, and people in Oklahoma history.

Please note that some markers listed in this database may have been moved, damaged, or are no longer standing.

Browse by County

Le Flore County
Lincoln County
Logan County
Love County
Major County
Marshall County
Mayes County
McClain County
McCurtain County
McIntosh County
Murray County
Muskogee County
Noble County
Nowata County
Okfuskee County
Oklahoma County
Okmulgee County
Osage County
Ottawa County
Pawnee County
Payne County
Pittsburg County
Pontotoc County
Pottawatomie County
Pushmataha County
Roger Mills County
Rogers County
Seminole County
Sequoyah County
Stephens County
Texas County
Tillman County
Tulsa County
Wagoner County
Washington County
Washita County
Woods County
Woodward County