Home |   About OHS |  Historical Marker Program

Historical Marker Program

Search Results

Your search returned 4 results.

Cheyenne-Arapaho Cattle Ranch
Custer County
Location: on OK-33, three miles east of Hammon
Material: Aluminum
The main headquarters for this million-acre ranch was on the Washita River at the mouth of Quartermaster Creek. The ranch was also known as the Apple Ranch.

Jabbok Orphanage & School
Custer County
Location: on OK-33 at west edge of Thomas
Material: Aluminum
Abe Eisenhower, uncle to President Dwight D. Eisenhower, started the orphanage in 1901 as a project of the Brethren of Christ Church. The surrounding cropland continues to provide income for missionary efforts of the organization.

Red Wheat Allotment
Custer County
Location: on OK-66 at east edge of Clinton
Material: Granite
Prior to the Cheyenne and Arapaho Reservation land run of April 19, 1892, this quarter-section of land was allotted to a Cheyenne woman named Red Wheat. Mennonite emigrants from Russia introduced 'Turkey red' winter wheat to northwest Oklahoma.

Southwestern State College
Custer County
Location: on OK-66, 1/2 mile east of Weatherford
The Sixth Legislative Assembly of Oklahoma Territory established the college on March 8, 1901. Classes began two years later with James Robert Campbell as the first president. The school is now known as Southwestern Oklahoma State University.

(Page 1 of 1)

Search for Markers

Search by keyword or browse by county to learn about more than 600 historical markers created to recognize key locations, events, and people in Oklahoma history.

Please note that some markers listed in this database may have been moved, damaged, or are no longer standing.

Browse by County

Latimer County
Le Flore County
Lincoln County
Logan County
Love County
Marshall County
Mayes County
McClain County
McCurtain County
McIntosh County
Murray County
Muskogee County
Noble County
Okfuskee County
Oklahoma County
Okmulgee County
Osage County
Ottawa County
Pawnee County
Payne County
Pittsburg County
Pontotoc County
Pottawatomie County
Pushmataha County
Roger Mills County
Rogers County
Seminole County
Sequoyah County
Stephens County
Texas County
Tillman County
Tulsa County
Wagoner County
Washington County
Washita County
Woods County
Woodward County