Home |   About OHS |   Press Room |  Press Release

Press Release

June 3, 2016

Contact: Melvena Heisch
State Historic Preservation Office, Oklahoma Historical Society
Office: 405-522-4484

SHPO Presents 2016 Citations of Merit

OKLAHOMA CITY — The Oklahoma State Historic Preservation Office (SHPO) presented its 2016 Citations of Merit during a banquet on Thursday, June 2, in Enid, Okla. The banquet was a highlight of Preservation is Golden: Oklahoma’s 28th Annual Statewide Preservation Conference, held June 1–3.

26 citations were presented for accomplishments in 11 Oklahoma communities. The award recognizes positive impacts on the preservation of Oklahoma’s historic properties through restoration, rehabilitation, research, planning, public programming and other activities. The 2016 recipients of the SHPO’s Citations of Merit and their accomplishments include:


  • Amber-Pocasset Elementary School, Third Grade for production of the I-movie about the historic Pocasset Gymnasium


  • Main Street Bartlesville, Bartlesville Area History Museum, Bartlesville Chamber of Commerce, Bartlesville Visitors Bureau, Bartlesville Redevelopment Trust Authority, Washington County Historical Society, City of Bartlesville, and Price Tower Art Center for sponsorship of Tradition and Transition: Oklahoma’s 27th Annual Statewide Preservation Conference


  • Grady County Historical Society for the façade rehabilitation of downtown Chickasha’s historic Dixie Building


  • Charles Elliott for protection of a segment of historic Route 66 roadbed and a unique stone bridge


  • Kingkini Arend for efforts to increase public awareness about Enid’s Mid-Century Modern Architecture
  • Main Street Enid, Inc., for creation of the Downtown Enid History website
  • Tammy Wilson for presentation of the Eerie Enid Tour and the Oklahoma Ghost Towns Tour
  • Greater Enid Chamber of Commerce for continued sponsorship of the Cherokee Strip Celebration
  • Robert Klemme for extraordinary efforts to mark and share the history of the Chisholm Trail
  • Railroad Museum of Oklahoma for collecting, sharing and preserving the history of railroading


  • Jodi Rolls for extraordinary efforts to protect and maintain Mustang’s historic Meloy House


  • Robert L. Brooks for more than 30 years of research, publication and leadership in the protection of archaeological resources
  • John D. Hartley for 30 years of dedicated public service in the study and management of archaeological and historic properties
  • Brent Swift Design Build and Butzer Gardner Architects for the certified rehabilitation of Norman’s Logan Apartments

Oklahoma City

  • Carnegie Centre, LLC; Beck Design; and Sikes Abernathie Architects for the certified rehabilitation of Oklahoma City’s historic Main Public Library Building
  • Comprise CDC; Rosin Preservation, LLC; and Yeager Architects for the certified rehabilitation of Oklahoma City’s historic Wesley Hospital
  • Founders Tower Condominiums, LLC; Richard R. Brown Associates; and Steven McQuillin & Associates for the certified rehabilitation of United Founders Tower
  • Elise Kilpatrick, Seibold Architecture, and Preservation and Design Studio for the certified rehabilitation of Oklahoma City’s Milk Bottle Building
  • Midtown Renaissance and Butzer Gardner Architects for the certified rehabilitation of Oklahoma City’s The Mayfair
  • Midtown Renaissance; David Kraszewski, architect; and Preservation and Design Studio for the certified rehabilitation of Oklahoma City’s Marion Hotel
  • OCU Law Building Associates and Frankfurt Short Bruza Associates for the certified rehabilitation of the Central High School Building for the Oklahoma City University School of Law


  • Bruce Smith for the adaptive reuse and certified rehabilitation of the historic Pawhuska Drug Building


  • St. Gregory’s University and TAP Architecture for rehabilitation of the historic Benedictine Hall


  • Linda Barnett for leadership in community revitalization efforts and service as State Coordinator for the Oklahoma Main Street Center
  • Interak Corporation and Sikes Abernathie Architects for rehabilitation of the Ward Building in Tulsa’s Brady Historic District
  • Nelson+Stowe Development, Ross Group, and KKT Architects for rehabilitation of Tulsa’s Coliseum Apartments

For more information about the 2016 Citation of Merit recipients and about the SHPO’s awards programs, contact Melvena Heisch at 405-522-4484 or mheisch@okhistory.org or visit www.okhistory.org/shpo/shpoawards.htm.

The mission of the Oklahoma Historical Society is to collect, preserve and share the history and culture of the state of Oklahoma and its people. Founded in 1893 by members of the Territorial Press Association, the OHS maintains 30 museums, historic sites and affiliates across the state. Through its research archives, exhibits, educational programs and publications the OHS chronicles the rich history of Oklahoma. For more information about the OHS, please visit www.okhistory.org.

⇐ Back to the press room