Cherokee Trail of Tears Properties in Oklahoma Added to the National Register of Historic Places

Properties associated with the American Indians who occupied present-day Oklahoma from earliest times, or who were moved to Indian Territory in the nineteenth century are among the state's most important historic resources. Of Oklahoma’s twenty-two National Historic Landmarks (NHL), thirteen of them are associated with these groups. Among the twelve Oklahoma NHLs designated before passage of the National Historic Preservation Act are the Cherokee National Capitol, Fort Gibson (associated with the end of the Cherokee’s Trail of Tears and federal government relations with the tribe), Sequoyah’s Cabin, and the George M. Murrell House, home of a prominent Cherokee leader, which was designated an NHL in 1974. The Oklahoma State Historic Preservation Office (SHPO) nominated American Indian properties to the National Register of Historic Places from the beginning of the program and continues to do so today. Four properties associated with the Cherokee Trail of Tears are among Oklahoma’s recent National Register listings.

Under its cooperative agreement with the National Park Service (NPS) National Trails Intermountain Region, the Oklahoma SHPO received funding through a task agreement to complete the four nominations. The Oklahoma Chapter, Cherokee Trail of Tears Association, worked with NPS and SHPO staff to identify the properties for nomination. Beattie’s Prairie and Breadtown were recorded in the state site files, but the other two properties were previously unknown to the SHPO. The National Register listings include

Ballard Creek Roadbed, NRHP 9/9/2013
Beattie’s Prairie (34-DL-227), NRHP 3/11/2014
Breadtown, NRHP 6/9/2014
Walker Farmhouse, NRHP 9/9/2013

Walker Farmhouse Fort Gibson Sequoyah's Cabin