Items from the Century Chest are now on exhibit at the Oklahoma History Center. Visitors can view never-before-seen photographs, documents, and American Indian artifacts and hear Oklahoma pioneer Angelo C. Scott's speech delivered at the burial of the chest in 1913. The exhibit also includes the 1889 poster promoting the first Fourth of July celebration in Oklahoma City on July 4, 1889, a letter to the blind of 2013 written in braille, the first state flag of Oklahoma, the pen used by President William McKinley to sign the Free Homes Bill for Oklahoma, and a 1913 bird's-eye view photograph of Oklahoma City showing the city like never before. In addition the exhibit contains dozens of messages, prophecies, and letters from the pioneers of 1913 to their descendants 100 years later.
Oklahoma History Center museum hours are Monday–Saturday 10 am to 5 pm. The History Center is located across from the State Capitol Building at 800 Nazih Zuhdi Drive in Oklahoma City. Call 405-522-0765 for more information.
Chad Williams, Director of the Research Division for the Oklahoma Historical Society, talks about the unique history of the First Lutheran Church's Century Chest, sealed and buried in 1913.
On April 22, 1913, a Century Chest was buried in the basement of the First English Lutheran Church (now the First Lutheran Church of Oklahoma City) at 1300 North Robinson. The ceremony was witnessed by a capacity crowd including Governor Lee Cruce and other notable residents.
Through a century of dutiful vigilance the congregation of the First Lutheran Church has guarded the Century Chest in order that on April 22, 2013, the chest would be unearthed and the past would come alive. The church has partnered with the Oklahoma Historical Society to ensure the treasures of 1913 are preserved and exhibited at the Oklahoma History Center.