Oklahoma History Center
All Black Towns Map
All-Black towns grew in Indian Territory after the Civil War when the former slaves of the Five Civilized Tribes settled together for mutual protection and economic security.

When the Land Run of 1889 opened yet more "free" land to non-Indian settlement, African Americans from the Old South rushed to the newly created Territory of Oklahoma.

Please select a town star on the map to read more.
Boley Brooksville Clearview Grayson Langston Lima Redbird Rentiesville Summit Taft Tatums Tullahassee Vernon WesternIndianTerritory BlaineCounty KingfisherCounty EastOKTerritory SouthernIndianTerritory NorthIndianTerritory EastIndianTerritory2 EastIndianTerritory1 CentralIndianTerritory1