Home |   About OHS |  Awards and Honors

Oklahoma Historical Society Awards and Honors

The Oklahoma Historical Society (OHS) encourages organizations and individuals to nominate others or self-apply. You do not have to be a member of the OHS to nominate nor to receive an award. Current members of the OHS Board of Directors and current employees of the OHS, its museums, sites, and affiliates are not eligible. Awards are not necessarily given every year.

Submissions and Evaluations

  • Download and complete the nomination form specific to the award
  • Submit the nomination form no later than November 15 to lodell@okhistory.org or mail form to:
    Larry O’Dell
    800 Nazih Zuhdi Drive
    Oklahoma City, OK 73105
  • Nominations received within the nomination period are provided to the selection committees
  • Nominees are evaluated on merit, not endorsement

2022 Awards Ceremony

The 2022 Oklahoma Historical Society Awards Ceremony will be Thursday, February 24, 2022, at the Oklahoma History Center. The Oklahoma History Center is located at 800 Nazih Zuhdi Drive in Oklahoma City. This event will honor OHS award recipients and include induction of individuals into the Oklahoma Historians Hall of Fame. Awardees will receive two complimentary banquet ticket.

Awards and Honors Available for Nomination

Oklahoma Historians Hall of Fame
Instituted in 1993, the Oklahoma Historians Hall of Fame is the highest honor awarded by the Oklahoma Historical Society. This honor recognizes distinguished and long-term contributions to Oklahoma history through demonstrated excellence. It is bestowed on individuals based on their contributions to the preservation, collection, interpretation, and dissemination of Oklahoma history. Past inductees include John Hope Franklin, Angie Debo, Currie Ballard, and Henrietta Mann. Inductees receive the Oklahoma Historians Hall of Fame medal, and their biography is published in The Chronicles of Oklahoma.
View a list of Oklahoma Historians Hall of Fame members.
Download nomination form (PDF)

Bruce T. Fisher Award
Outstanding Oklahoma History Project
The Bruce T. Fisher Award recognizes the significant contribution of an individual or organization for projects including but not limited to digital, short-form publications, collections care, film, programs, and exhibits. The project must contribute to broader public knowledge or expand appreciation in any field of Oklahoma history. The work must have been completed in the previous year with a project budget of $20,000 or below. The awardee receives a commemorative plaque.
Download nomination form (PDF)

Linda Williams Reese Award
Outstanding Dissertation or Thesis on Oklahoma History
The Linda Williams Reese Award recognizes outstanding dissertations or theses on Oklahoma history completed during the previous year. The awardee receives $500 and a plaque of recognition.
Download nomination form (PDF)

Joseph B. Thoburn Award
Outstanding Student Historian
To encourage the study of Oklahoma history among young people, the OHS offers the Joseph B. Thoburn Award each year to the junior or senior high school student who exhibits outstanding achievements in the presentation or interpretation of state and local history. This may include but is not limited to involvement in local historical projects, and achievements in essay contests, scholastic tests, and Oklahoma National History Day competitions. The awardee receives $500 and a plaque of recognition.
Download nomination form (PDF)

William D. Pennington Award
Outstanding Social Studies Teacher
The William D. Pennington Award is presented to an outstanding social studies teacher. We welcome nominations of persons who demonstrate effective teaching by any measure of excellence. This may include but is not limited to the use or development of innovative social studies curriculum or technology, a lasting impact on students, and remarkable support for Oklahoma National History Day projects. Nominees will be asked to supply a sample lesson plan with current Oklahoma state standards and expectations. The awardee receives $500 and a plaque of recognition.
Download nomination form (PDF)

Additional Awards

Muriel H. Wright Award
Outstanding Article Published in The Chronicles of Oklahoma

First awarded in 1974, the Muriel H. Wright Award honors the author of the outstanding article published in the preceding volume of the OHS’s scholarly journal, The Chronicles of Oklahoma. All articles published in The Chronicles are considered for the award, and the recipient receives $500 and a plaque of recognition.