Home |   About OHS |   Awards and Honors |  Awards Banquet

Oklahoma Historical Society Awards Banquet

On Thursday, March 21, 2024, the Oklahoma Historical Society will honor award recipients and Oklahoma Historians Hall of Fame inductees at our annual Awards Banquet held at the Oklahoma History Center in Oklahoma City. A cocktail reception begins at 6 p.m., and dinner and the awards program will follow at 6:30 p.m. Cocktail attire is requested, and guests must RSVP by March 11.

Tickets and Tables

Tickets and tables are now available to purchase online. Individual tickets are available for $100 and include one ticket to the reception and banquet. Tables include eight reception tickets, a banquet table for eight, and the sponsor’s name listed on the printed program and OHS website. Donation levels are Silver $1,000; Gold $2,500; and Platinum $5,000.

Purchase Tickets and Sponsorships

Please contact Development Officer Brittney Berling for more information at brittney.berling@history.ok.gov

Awards and Honors Presented

Oklahoma Historians Hall of Fame
Hannibal B. Johnson
Debra Echo-Hawk

Guardians of History Honorees
Representative Bob Ed Culver
Senator Kevin Matthews

E. E. Dale Award
Outstanding Book on Oklahoma History
Built from the Fire: The Epic Story of Tulsa’s Greenwood District, America’s Black Wall Street, Victor Luckerson

Muriel H. Wright Award
Outstanding Article Published in The Chronicles of Oklahoma
“The Influence of Oklahomans on the Bakersfield Sound: One of Country Music’s Greatest Eras,” Phil Neighbors (Spring 2023)

“Lucile Spire Blachly and the Politics of Women’s Health Reform in Oklahoma,” Kathi Nehls (Fall 2023)
“On Chickasaw Nation and Choctaw Nation of Oklahoma Tribal Timber Transactions,” Matthew Armor (Winter 2023–2024)

Bruce T. Fisher Award
Outstanding Oklahoma History Project

“Gardens on Blue Hawk Peak,” Pawnee, OK

Linda Williams Reese Award
Outstanding Thesis on Oklahoma History

“‘The Modern Frontier’: Oklahoma Settler Memory in the mid-Twentieth Century,” Martha Beliveau, University of Oklahoma

William D. Pennington Award
Outstanding Social Studies Teacher
Jaime Lee, Bixby 9th Grade Center

Joseph B. Thoburn Award
Outstanding Student Historian

Adrian Pan, Oklahoma School of Science and Mathematics

Past Awards Banquets
2023 Awards Banquet
2022 Awards Banquet
2021 Awards Ceremony (online)