Home |   About OHS |   Press Room |  Press Release

Press Release

April 18, 2016

Contact: Paul Lambert
Oklahoma Historical Society
Office: 405-522-5217

2016 History Award Recipients Announced

OKLAHOMA CITY — The Oklahoma Historical Society will host its annual Awards Luncheon on Friday, April 29, at noon, at the Woodward Conference Center in Woodward, Okla. In addition to four individuals who will be inducted into the Oklahoma Historians Hall of Fame, other individuals and organizations will be recognized for their efforts on behalf of Oklahoma history. Award recipients will include Willard Jacob Cornwell, Tulsa; Friends of Historic Fort Supply, Woodward; Kate Garner, Broken Arrow; Frank Norris, Santa Fe, New Mexico; Plains Indians and Pioneers Museum, Woodward; Joe Specht, Abilene, Texas; University Press of Kansas, Lawrence, Kansas; Amy M. Ware, Austin, Texas; and Linnett Williamson, Felt.

Norris and Specht are cowinners of the Muriel H. Wright Award, which recognizes the author of the best article published in the previous volume of The Chronicles of Oklahoma.

Garner will receive the Joseph B. Thoburn Award presented annually to an outstanding Oklahoma history student, while Williamson will receive the William D. Pennington Award recognizing an outstanding Oklahoma history teacher.

The Outstanding Local Museum Award will be presented to the Plains Indians and Pioneers Museum, and the Outstanding Local OHS Support Group Award will be presented to the Friends of Historic Fort Supply.

Willard Jacob “Jake” Cornwell will be honored as the author of the Outstanding Thesis on Oklahoma History completed in 2015, while author Amy M. Ware will receive the award for Outstanding Book on Oklahoma History published in 2015. The University of Kansas Press also will be honored as the publisher of the book.

The annual Awards Luncheon is one of several events taking place as part of the three-day 2016 Oklahoma History Conference in Woodward. Individuals wishing to attend the annual Awards Luncheon on April 29 without attending other conference events may do so without paying a registration fee. To make arrangements, please contact Shelly Crynes at 405-522-0317 or scrynes@okhistory.org. The complete conference schedule and how to register may be obtained by contacting Paul Lambert at 405-522-5217 or plambert@okhistory.org.

The mission of the Oklahoma Historical Society is to collect, preserve and share the history and culture of the state of Oklahoma and its people. Founded in 1893 by members of the Territorial Press Association, the OHS maintains 31 museums, historic sites and affiliates across the state. Through its research archives, exhibits, educational programs and publications the OHS chronicles the rich history of Oklahoma. For more information about the OHS, please visit www.okhistory.org.


⇐ Back to the press room