Home |   About OHS |   Press Room |  Press Release

Press Release

August 2, 2019

Contact: Steve Hawkins
Oklahoma History Center, Oklahoma Historical Society
Office: 405-522-0754

Oklahoma History Center Nominee Qualifies as Gilder Lehrman National History Teacher of the Year

OKLAHOMA CITY — Sarah Morehead, a teacher at Tinker Elementary in the Mid-Del School District, has been named the 2019 Oklahoma History Teacher of the Year, an award presented annually by the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History, the nation’s leading organization dedicated to K–12 American history education. The Oklahoma History Center partners annually with the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History by presenting the Oklahoma History Teacher of the Year award to the state winner and then providing qualified nominees for consideration for the national award. 

Morehead graduated with a Bachelor of Science degree with a specialization in special education from the University of Oklahoma in 2011. Working as a fifth grade reading, ELA and social studies teacher at Tinker Elementary School, she makes history come alive for her students through re-creations of past events in the classroom. Building on those unforgettable moments, Morehead guides her students through inquiries designed to provide comprehensive understanding of the American colonial era. As a professional devoted to her craft, Morehead seeks out professional development opportunities, spending more than 500 hours of her time in additional coursework.

In addition to a $1,000 honorarium, Tinker Elementary School will receive a core archive of American history books and Gilder Lehrman educational materials and recognition at a ceremony in Oklahoma. “The process of selection this year challenged the Selection Committee because of the quality of the candidates nominated. Ms. Morehead is assuredly one of the finest teachers in the state and I look forward to celebrating the achievements of this excellent teacher,” said Carrie Fox, state coordinator for the Gilder Lehrman National History Teacher of the Year competition.

Nominations for the 2020 History Teacher of the Year awards are now open. Students, parents, colleagues and supervisors may nominate K–12 teachers for the award by visiting www.gilderlehrman.org/nhtoy. The deadline for 2020 nominations is March 31, 2020.

Now celebrating its twenty-fifth year, the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History was founded in 1994 by Richard Gilder and Lewis E. Lehrman, visionaries and lifelong supporters of American history education. The institute is the leading nonprofit organization dedicated to K–12 history education while also serving the general public. Its mission is to promote the knowledge and understanding of American history through educational programs and resources.

The Oklahoma History Center is a division of the Oklahoma Historical Society and is an affiliate of the Smithsonian Institution, National Archives and is an accredited member of the American Alliance of Museums. The mission of the Oklahoma Historical Society is to collect, preserve and share the history and culture of the state of Oklahoma and its people. Founded in 1893 by members of the Territorial Press Association, the OHS maintains museums, historic sites and affiliates across the state. Through its research archives, exhibits, educational programs and publications the OHS chronicles the rich history of Oklahoma. For more information about the OHS, please visit www.okhistory.org.


⇐ Back to the press room