Home |   About OHS |   Press Room |  Press Release

Press Release

October 1, 2021

Contact: Steve Hawkins
Oklahoma History Center, Oklahoma Historical Society
Office: 405-522-0754

Oklahoma History Center Announces the Opening of “Sun and Silver: Photography Before Statehood”

OKLAHOMA CITY — The Oklahoma History Center is pleased to offer its newest exhibit entitled “Sun and Silver: Photography Before Statehood.” This exhibit reintroduces visitors to well-known professional traveling and studio photographers of the pre-statehood era, and presents lesser-known amateur photographers of the same period. Also included in “Sun and Silver” is an exploration of the various processes used for developing photographs. Magical images on mirror-like, silver-coated copper surfaces (daguerreotypes), mysterious fragile glass negatives (wet-plate photography) and unique, blue-toned prints (cyanotypes) are just a small sample of what guests will see.

This exhibit is now open and may be viewed in the Cooper and Gladys West Atrium Wing and Gallery during regular museum hours, Monday through Saturday, 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Museum admission is $10 for adults, $5 for seniors ages 62 and over, $5 for students and free for children ages five and under. Group rates are available upon request. Oklahoma Historical Society members, active-duty military, veterans and dependents (with ID) are admitted at no charge. 

The Oklahoma History Center is a division of the Oklahoma Historical Society and is an affiliate of the Smithsonian Institution, National Archives and is an accredited member of the American Alliance of Museums. The mission of the Oklahoma Historical Society is to collect, preserve and share the history and culture of the state of Oklahoma and its people. Founded in 1893 by members of the Territorial Press Association, the OHS maintains museums, historic sites and affiliates across the state. Through its research archives, exhibits, educational programs and publications the OHS chronicles the rich history of Oklahoma. For more information about the OHS, please visit www.okhistory.org.


⇐ Back to the press room