Home |   About OHS |   Press Room |  Press Release

Press Release

September 24, 2018

a History Center, Oklahoma Historical Society
Office: 405-522-0754

Timeline Segments Added to Oklahoma History Center Grounds

OKLAHOMA CITY — The newest addition to the Oklahoma History Center’s outdoor exhibits is the Timeline of Oklahoma History, chronicling the state’s past from prehistory to the opening of the Oklahoma History Center in 2005. The timeline segments are located along the sidewalk adjacent to the guest parking lot, ushering guests inside the Oklahoma History Center to learn more about Oklahoma history. “Timelines and chronological thinking are important components of Oklahoma school curriculum and provide an overview of Oklahoma’s history for visitors before they explore the Oklahoma History Center’s vast galleries and resources,” said Kathryn Grossman, curator of education at the History Center.

The Timeline of Oklahoma History runs adjacent to the Red River Journey and the Red River Heritage Gardens, which are made possible through the generous sponsorship of the Meinders Foundation, Oklahoma Department of Transportation, Oklahoma City Federation of Women’s Clubs and the Colonial Dames.

The Oklahoma History Center is a division of the Oklahoma Historical Society and is an affiliate of the Smithsonian Institution, National Archives and is an accredited member of the American Alliance of Museums. The mission of the Oklahoma Historical Society is to collect, preserve and share the history and culture of the state of Oklahoma and its people. Founded in 1893 by members of the Territorial Press Association, the OHS maintains museums, historic sites and affiliates across the state. Through its research archives, exhibits, educational programs and publications the OHS chronicles the rich history of Oklahoma. For more information about the OHS, please visit www.okhistory.org.


Editor’s Note: For images of the timeline elements and a map of their placement on the Oklahoma History Center grounds, please contact Steve Hawkins at 405-522-0754 or shawkins@okhistory.org.

⇐ Back to the press room