Home |   Museums and Sites |  Historical Markers

Historical Markers

Search by keyword or browse by county to learn about more than 600 historical markers created to recognize key locations, events, and people in Oklahoma history.

In 1976 the Oklahoma Historical Society published Mark of Heritage. Written by Muriel Wright, George Shirk, and Kenny Franks, this publication contains information about historic sites and historical markers in Oklahoma.
Read Mark of Heritage online

Search Results

Your search returned 4 results.

100th Meridian
Harmon County
Now the Oklahoma-Texas border, the 100th Meridian was part of the disputed boundary between Spanish territory and the vast Louisiana Purchase, a boundary solidified by the Adams-Onis Treaty in 1819.
Located on US-6, four miles west of Hollis (DAR)

La Casa School
Harmon County
The La Casa School was formed in 1925 by consolidating three schools: Mesquite, Star Valley, and Bearden. The first class graduated in 1928. The school closed in 1957.
Located on US-62, three miles east of Hollis

Ron School
Harmon County
The Ron School began in 1939 with the consolidation of schools at Dryden, McKnight, Metcalf, and Teacross. The last class graduated in 1964 when the school became part of the Hollis Public Schools.
Located on OK-30, seven miles north of Hollis

Harmon County
A post office was established here on August 20, 1903, named for Henry B. Vinson, the owner of the townsite. The Vinson School closed in 1964 after serving children for decades from the surrounding communities of Cave Creek, Independence, Union Grove, Madge, Opal, Carl, Sulphur, Union Hill, Hurst, Hackberry, and Elm Valley.
Located on OK-9 in Vinson

(Page 1 of 1)

Search for Markers

Browse by County

Le Flore County
Lincoln County
Logan County
Love County
Major County
Marshall County
Mayes County
McClain County
McCurtain County
McIntosh County
Murray County
Muskogee County
Noble County
Nowata County
Okfuskee County
Oklahoma County
Okmulgee County
Osage County
Ottawa County
Pawnee County
Payne County
Pittsburg County
Pontotoc County
Pottawatomie County
Pushmataha County
Roger Mills County
Rogers County
Seminole County
Sequoyah County
Stephens County
Texas County
Tillman County
Tulsa County
Wagoner County
Washington County
Washita County
Woods County
Woodward County