Home |   About OHS |   Board of Directors |  Elections and Nominations

OHS Board of Directors Elections and Nominations

The Oklahoma Historical Society is governed by a 25-member board of directors. Thirteen are elected by the members of the Oklahoma Historical Society and twelve are appointed by the governor of Oklahoma. OHS membership elects one member from each OHS membership district and seven members at large. The governor appoints one member from each membership district, and appoints six additional members at large.

More information about the OHS Board of Directors is available in the OHS Constitution and Bylaws.

Elections and Nominations

Elections are typically held in the spring. Ballots and information about nominees are mailed to current OHS members in March; ballots must be received by a specified date in April.

All board members must reside in Oklahoma and have been a member of the Oklahoma Historical Society for two years. Nominations for individuals meeting these basic criteria will be included for consideration by the Nominating Committee. The Nominating Committee shall receive nominations until October 15 of the year preceding the election year.
View the nomination form (PDF)

Membership Districts

Membership districts are established by the Board of Directors considering principally the most recent census data.

District 1
District 1 consists of Tulsa County.

District 2
District 2 includes Adair, Cherokee, Craig, Creek, Delaware, Mayes, Muskogee, Nowata, Okmulgee, Ottawa, Rogers, Wagoner, and Washington Counties.

District 3
District 3 includes Atoka, Bryan, Carter, Choctaw, Coal, Garvin, Haskell, Hughes, Johnston, Latimer, Le Flore, Love, Marshall, McCurtain, McIntosh, Murray, Okfuskee, Pittsburg, Pontotoc, Pottawatomie, Pushmataha, Seminole, and Sequoyah Counties.

District 4
District 4 includes Caddo, Cleveland, Comanche, Cotton, Grady, Greer, Harmon, Jackson, Jefferson, Kiowa, McClain, Stephens, and Tillman Counties.

District 5
District 5 consists of Oklahoma County.

District 6
District 6 includes Alfalfa, Beaver, Beckham, Blaine, Canadian, Cimarron, Custer, Dewey, Ellis, Garfield, Grant, Harper, Kay, Kingfisher, Lincoln, Logan, Major, Noble, Osage, Pawnee, Payne, Roger Mills, Texas, Washita, Woods, and Woodward Counties.

View larger version of the map (PDF)