Home |   About OHS |   Press Room |  Press Release

Press Release

December 1, 2014


Contact: Melvena Heisch
State Historic Preservation Office, Oklahoma Historical Society
Office: 405-522-4484

SHPO Announces HPRC'S 2015 Meeting Schedule

The Oklahoma Historical Society, State Historic Preservation Office (SHPO) is pleased to announce the Oklahoma Historic Preservation Review Committee's (HPRC) meeting schedule for calendar year 2015. The governor appoints the members of the HPRC to advise the SHPO about nominations to the National Register of Historic Places (NRHP) and other preservation issues. Current HPRC members include William P. Corbett (historian, Tahlequah), Ron Frantz (architect, Oklahoma City), John D. Hartley (prehistoric archaeologist, Norman), Arn Henderson (architectural historian, Norman) and Charles S. Wallis (historical archaeologist, Norman). The HPRC's 2015 meetings will begin at 1:30 p.m. on Thursday, January 15, April 16, July 16 and October 15.

These public meetings will be held in the Oklahoma Historical Society's LeRoy H. Fischer Boardroom on the third floor of the Oklahoma History Center located at 800 Nazih Zuhdi Dr. in Oklahoma City. The HPRC and the SHPO encourage all interested parties to attend, and meeting agendas and NRHP nominations under consideration will be available at http://www.okhistory.org/shpo/spevents.htm.

The National Park Service regulations governing the SHPO's programs require that a qualified state review board participate in the NRHP and other SHPO programs. During each meeting, the HPRC hears presentations on NRHP nominations from SHPO staff and consultants; receives comments from owners of properties proposed for nomination; listens to public comments and concerns; and formulates recommendations to the SHPO about whether or not a property should be nominated. The HPRC and SHPO staff invite concerned citizens and preservation professionals to participate in this important component of Oklahoma's preservation program.

For information about any of the SHPO's programs, call 405-521-6249 or visit us on the website listed above.

The SHPO is a division of the Oklahoma Historical Society. The mission of the Oklahoma Historical Society is to collect, preserve and share the history and culture of the state of Oklahoma. Founded in 1893 by members of the Territorial Press Association, the OHS maintains 31 museums, historic sites and affiliates across the state. Through its research archives, exhibits, educational programs and publications the OHS chronicles the rich history of Oklahoma. For more information visit www.okhistory.org.

⇐ Back to the press room