Home > SHPO >  Special Events


The Oklahoma State Historic Preservation Office, a division of the Oklahoma Historical Society (a state agency), is recruiting candidates to fill a Historic Preservation Specialist position (Architectural Historian/National Register Coordinator). This is a senior level position, and the person will work under the supervision of the Deputy State Historic Preservation Officer. As further detailed in the recruitment notice below, the primary focus of the position's duties relate to the SHPO's National Register of Historic Places, Architectural/Historic Survey, and Review and Compliance (Section 106) programs.


Opening Date: August 29, 2017
Closing Date: Until Filled
Job Title: Historic Preservation Specialist III
Job Code/Level: U14C
Pay Band/Hiring Range: L $2,919.34 - $5,352.13
Vacancies: 1
Location: Oklahoma City, OK

The position is the SHPO's Architectural Historian/National Register Program Coordinator. The position is essential to the SHPO's compliance with requirements of the federal historic preservation programs. U.S. Department of the Interior, National Park Service regulations (36 CFR Part 61) stipulate that each SHPO must employ an individual who meets the Secretary of the Interior's Professional Qualification Standards in the discipline of architectural history to maintain its approved program status and receive its annual federal funding allocation.

Key Duties:

  1. Coordinates the division's National Register of Historic Places program.
  2. Coordinates the division's architectural/historic resources survey program.
  3. Develops opinions on the eligibility of architectural/historic resources for the National Register of Historic Places required in the division's federally mandated review of federally assisted construction projects of other agencies and/or their applicants and designees.
  4. Supervises the division's Historic Preservation Specialist, Level I, who conducts archival and field research associated with the architectural/historic resources survey program and who maintains the division's architectural/historic resources database.
  5. Reviews complex reports, scopes of work, contracts, applications and other materials prepared by professional consultants and others for the major division programs cited above.
  6. Prepares complex reports, scopes of work, contract documents, applications and other materials for the major division programs cited above.
  7. Develops scopes of work for the procurement of professional services and monitors contract performance for the major division programs cited above.
  8. Develops and delivers presentations to professional organizations, other government agencies, and the general public on major division programs and a variety of topics related to the preservation of historic resources.
  9. Consults with clients/customers on major division programs and a variety of technical historic preservation topics.
  10. Prepares correspondence to address inquiries of clients/customers on a wide variety of complex historic preservation topics.

How to apply:

All applicants must apply through the State of Oklahoma's Human Capital Management, Office of Management and Enterprise Services (HCM/OMES).

To complete the application process, go to http://www.jobaps.com/ok/ to submit your application through HCM/OMES. HCM/OMES must qualify candidates. Applications will be accepted continuously until the position is filled.


The Oklahoma Historical Society, State Historic Preservation Office (SHPO), is now accepting nominations for its 2018 awards program. Individuals, businesses, government agencies, and organizations contribute to the preservation of Oklahoma's heritage through rehabilitation/restoration projects, archeological site protection, field and archival research, publications, and public programming. Previous award recipients are featured on the SHPO's website at http://www.okhistory.org/shpo/shpoawards.htm. Submit a nomination and help the SHPO celebrate accomplishments like these and the many ways the National Historic Preservation Act impacts communities of all sizes.

The SHPO's awards program includes the Shirk Memorial Award for Historic Preservation and the SHPO's Citation of Merit. The deadline for nominations is 5:00pm, Friday, December 1, 2017, and nomination sponsors and award recipients will receive notice of the results of the selection process in February 2018. The awards will be presented at the banquet during Oklahoma's 30th Annual Statewide Preservation Conference in Tulsa (June 6-8, 2018).

The Shirk Memorial Award for Historic Preservation recognizes historic preservation programs or activities that have had statewide impact. The SHPO's Citation of Merit highlights noteworthy accomplishments in historic preservation at the state or local level.

The SHPO accepts nominations in either electronic or hard copy format. Obtain the nomination forms and instructions from the SHPO's website at http://www.okhistory.org/shpo/shpoawards.htm. To request nomination forms and instructions or to ask questions, call the SHPO at 405/521-6249 or email jmatthews@okhistory.org.