Home |   Research Center |   Territorial |  1890 Census

Search the 1890 Oklahoma Territorial Census

About the 1890 Oklahoma Territorial Census

Most of the 1890 US Federal census was destroyed by fire in 1921, making the 1890 Oklahoma Territorial Census one of the few remaining census records from the time. The Oklahoma Historical Society houses the original 1890 census pages.

The 1890 Oklahoma Territorial Census lists individuals residing the Oklahoma Territory. In 1890 Oklahoma Territory consisted of seven counties, often listed only by number on the census. The counties and their accompanying numbers are listed below.

  1. Logan County
  2. Oklahoma County
  3. Cleveland County
  4. Canadian County
  5. Kingfisher County
  6. Payne County
  7. Beaver County

Information Included in the Census

The 1890 Oklahoma Territorial Census recorded the individual's name, age at nearest birthday, relationship to the head of the family, birthplace, sex, color, number of years in the United States, length of residence in the territory, if they were a soldier, if they had been naturalized, and if they were able to read or write. The county and town were also listed.

Order Copies

Researchers may order printed or digital copies of the census using our express service. Once you have located your ancestor in the online index, complete the census express order form and mail to OHS with your payment. You will need to include the individual's name, age, and the page number. You may also order by phone 405-522-5225.