Home > shpo > Events >  Historic Preservation Review Committee

Historic Preservation Review Committee

Established in 1969 as a part of the State of Oklahoma's participation in the newly created federal preservation programs, the Committee membership is composed of citizen members as well as professionals in the areas of history, architecture, architectural history, historic archeology, and prehistoric archeology. The Committee provides comments to the State Historic Preservation Officer about proposed nominations to the National Register of Historic Places and other preservation issues as appropriate. Additionally, the committee comments on nominations to the State Register of Historic Places.

2015 Meeting Schedule

Thursday, January 15, 2015 - 1:30pm
Thursday, April 16, 2015 - 1:30pm
Thursday, July 16, 2015 - 1:30pm
Thursday, October 15, 2015 - 1:30pm

Location: All meetings are held in the Oklahoma Historical Society Boardroom, 3rd floor, Oklahoma History Center, 800 Nazih Zuhdi Drive, Oklahoma City, OK 73105.

Current Historic Preservation Review Committee (HPRC) members (as of November 2012) include William P. Corbett (Historian, Tahlequah); Ron Frantz (Architect, Oklahoma City); John D. Hartley (Prehistoric Archeologist, Norman); Arn Henderson (Architectural Historian, Norman) ; and Charles S. Wallis (Historical Archeologist, Norman).

January 15, 2015

  1. First Church of Christ Scientist, 300 North 3rd Street, Ponca City, Kay County (Nomination)
  2. St. John Baptist Church and Rectory, 1009 South Eleventh Street, Ponca City, Kay County (Nomination)
  3. First National Bank, 123 East W.C. Rogers Boulevard, Skiatook, Tulsa County (Nomination)
  4. Oklahoma Iron Works/Bethlehem Supply Company Building, 118 North Lansing Avenue, Tulsa, Tulsa County (Nomination)
  5. McAlester Downtown Historic District, McAlester, Pittsburg County (Nomination)
  6. Oklahoma City National Memorial, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma County (Nomination)

Nominations Awaiting National Park Service Approval

October 2014 Historic Preservation Review Committee Meeting

Bacone College Historic District, Muskogee, Muskogee County
Fox Hotel, Skiatook, Tulsa County
Kennedy Mansion, Okmulgee, Okmulgee County
Main Street Arcade, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma County
Miller's Boulevard Historic District, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma County
Oklahoma A&M College Dairy Barn, Stillwater, Payne County
Town House Hotel, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma County
Union School District 19 1/2, Newalla, Cleveland County

October 2012 Historic Preservation Review Committee Meeting

Tulsa Race Riot of 1921 (Greenwood Historic District), Tulsa, Tulsa County

Nominations Officially Determined Eligible but Not Listed

Ardmore Presbyterian Church, Ardmore, Carter County

Beth Israel Temple, Muskogee, Muskogee County

Mummers Theater (Stage Center), Oklahoma City, Oklahoma County