Home |  PublicationsEncyclopedia |  Southwestern Oklahoma State University

Administration Building, 1917
(2105, Oklahoma Historical Society Photograph Collection, OHS).




Southwestern Oklahoma State University held its centennial celebration on March 8, 2001. Southwestern Normal School was established by the Oklahoma Territorial Legislature on March 8, 1901, to prepare teachers for the public schools. Several towns waged vigorous campaigns to become the site of the new institution. After a lengthy court battle, Weatherford was chosen as the school's home. Work began on the first building, located on a hilltop overlooking the frontier town. While the first building was still under construction, classes began on September 15, 1903. Attending classes in the three abandoned saloons on Main Street, students could hear the clink of glasses and the voices of gamblers in the adjoining saloons. Pres. James R. Campbell and twelve faculty members welcomed 113 students to the new school.

In 1920 Southwestern Normal School became a four-year institution under the name Southwestern State Teachers College. In the 1930s Southwestern struggled to survive attempts to close the school for financial reasons and to remove several presidents for political reasons. In 1939 the Board of Regents added a vocational curriculum to the teacher training mission, leading to the establishment of the Pharmacy Department, now the School of Pharmacy, a nationally known program.

Southwestern grew rapidly, adding new degree programs and graduate programs after World War II when returning veterans took advantage of the GI Bill. Under the leadership of Pres. Al Harris in the 1960s and 1970s, Southwestern added several new buildings and reached a record enrollment of over 5,500. In 1974 the institution's name was changed to Southwestern Oklahoma State University. Southwestern has gained national recognition through sports and academic programs. With a student enrollment of 4,915, the school entered its centennial year and the twenty-first century under the leadership of Pres. Joe Anna Hibler. She was the second woman (Kate Galt Zaneis was the first) to serve as president of an Oklahoma institution of higher education.

Jerry G. Nye



Jerry G. Nye, Southwestern Oklahoma State University: The First 100 Years (Weatherford, Okla.: Southwestern Oklahoma State University, 2001).

Copyright and Terms of Use

No part of this site may be construed as in the public domain.

Copyright to all articles and other content in the online and print versions of The Encyclopedia of Oklahoma History is held by the Oklahoma Historical Society (OHS). This includes individual articles (copyright to OHS by author assignment) and corporately (as a complete body of work), including web design, graphics, searching functions, and listing/browsing methods. Copyright to all of these materials is protected under United States and International law.

Users agree not to download, copy, modify, sell, lease, rent, reprint, or otherwise distribute these materials, or to link to these materials on another web site, without authorization of the Oklahoma Historical Society. Individual users must determine if their use of the Materials falls under United States copyright law's "Fair Use" guidelines and does not infringe on the proprietary rights of the Oklahoma Historical Society as the legal copyright holder of The Encyclopedia of Oklahoma History and part or in whole.


The following (as per The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th edition) is the preferred citation for articles:
Jerry G. Nye, “Southwestern Oklahoma State University,” The Encyclopedia of Oklahoma History and Culture, https://www.okhistory.org/publications/enc/entry.php?entry=SO020.