Home |   About OHS |  Historical Marker Program

OHS Historical Marker Program

If you would like to learn more about the OHS Historical Marker Program or how to submit an application, please visit the OHS Historical Marker Program page.

Marker Application Process

Search Results

Your search returned 9 results.

Bernard de La Harpe 1719
Latimer County
The French explorer Bernard de La Harpe came north from Louisiana seeking trade with the Wichita Indians. He camped three miles east of Hartshorne on August 25, 1719, on his way north to the Canadian River and Wichita villages.
Located on US-270, five miles east of Hartshorne

CCC-Robbers Cave State Park
Latimer County
Members of the Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) constructed Robbers Cave State Park in the 1930s on land donated by State Representative Carlton Weaver, who is buried in the main park circle. Carlton Lake is named for him.
Located in Robbers Cave State Park

Edwards Store
Latimer County
In 1857, Congress created the Butterfield Overland Mail Route to carry mail and passengers between St. Louis, Missouri, and Memphis, Tennessee, and points west. It was the first real transcontinental link between the Atlantic states and the Pacific Coast of the United States. There were twelve stations along a 197-mile route in Oklahoma, including Edwards Store, the log home of Thomas Edwards. The first Red Oak post office was opened here on March 11, 1868, with Edwards as postmaster.
Located seven miles northeast of Red Oak

Holloway's Station
Latimer County
Holloway's Station was a stage stand along the Butterfield Overland Mail Route at the "Narrows." See Edwards Store.
Located three miles northeast of Red Oak

Kiamichi Baptist Assembly
Latimer County
The Kiamichi Baptist Assembly campground was established in July 1941.
Located three miles north of Talihina at campground (OBHC)

Mountain Station
Latimer County
Old Ft. Smith-Boggy Depot Road. A stage stand for changing horses and a toll road over this mountain pass were established here in 1866 under Choctaw law. This road was the Butterfield Overland Mail route in 1858–61.
Located about thirteen miles southwest of Wilburton, Latimer County, at top of Blue Mountain on the county road, west side from gate to Mountain Station Cemetery

Pusley's Station
Latimer County
Pusley's Station was a stop on the Butterfield Overland Mail Route south of Gaines Creek. See Edwards Store.
Located southwest of Higgins

Riddle's Station
Latimer County
Riddle's Station was a stop on the Butterfield Overland Mail Route east of Wilburton at the community of Lutie. See Edwards Store.
Located on county road at Old Riddle Cemetery

Trahern's Station
Latimer County
Trahern's Station was a stop on the Butterfield Overland Mail Route west of Shady Point at the community of Latham. See Edwards Store.
Located at Latham, eight miles west of Shady Point

(Page 1 of 1)

Search for Markers

Search by keyword or browse by county to learn about more than 600 historical markers created to recognize key locations, events, and people in Oklahoma history.

Please note that some markers listed in this database may have been moved, damaged, or are no longer standing.

Browse by County

Le Flore County
Lincoln County
Logan County
Love County
Major County
Marshall County
Mayes County
McClain County
McCurtain County
McIntosh County
Murray County
Muskogee County
Noble County
Nowata County
Okfuskee County
Oklahoma County
Okmulgee County
Osage County
Ottawa County
Pawnee County
Payne County
Pittsburg County
Pontotoc County
Pottawatomie County
Pushmataha County
Roger Mills County
Rogers County
Seminole County
Sequoyah County
Stephens County
Texas County
Tillman County
Tulsa County
Wagoner County
Washington County
Washita County
Woods County
Woodward County