Home |   About OHS |  Historical Marker Program

Historical Marker Program

Search Results

Your search returned 5 results.

Chickasaw Council House
Johnston County
Location: in Chickasaw Museum, 200 North Fisher, Tishomingo
A log cabin, now restored to near original condition, served as the official meeting place of Chickasaw leaders from 1856 until 1858 when a new brick building was constructed. Fire destroyed that building in 1890, and the final Chickasaw capitol, now the Johnston County Courthouse, was built in 1897.

Johnston County
Location: Chickasaw White House
Sponsored by: Letha Clark, Johnston County Historical Society
One of the first towns established in Johnston County. Emet originated when the Chickasaw Council House was moved from Boggy Depot to this area, two miles east of the Pleasant Grove Mission in the early 1850s. The Pleasant Grove Mission School was established by the Methodist Episcopal Church in 1844 to serve the children of the Chickasaws.

Oklahoma Farmers Union
Johnston County
Location: across the street from Johnston County Courthouse
Sponsored by: Johnston County Historical Society
Struggling farmers united to form Farmers Union at Point, Texas in 1902. Spreading into the Twin Territories, William H. "Alfalfa Bill" Murray helped establish the Indiahoma Farmers' Educational and Co-Operative Union of America.

Johnston County
Location: on OK-99 west of Tishomingo
Material: Aluminum
The capital of the Chickasaw Nation was named after the last war chief of the Chickasaws, Tishomingo, who died on the Trail of Tears during removal from Mississippi. Soon after its founding in 1856, Tishomingo became the trade and cultural center of the Chickasaw Nation.

Wapanucka Academy
Johnston County
Location: at junction of OK-7 and OK-70
Material: Aluminum
The Chickasaw Council established this major educational effort for Chickasaw children in 1852. Near the ruins of the school is the grave of Mary C. Greenleaf, a teacher at the academy, who died in 1857.

(Page 1 of 1)

Search for Markers

Search by keyword or browse by county to learn about more than 600 historical markers created to recognize key locations, events, and people in Oklahoma history.

Please note that some markers listed in this database may have been moved, damaged, or are no longer standing.

Browse by County

Latimer County
Le Flore County
Lincoln County
Logan County
Love County
Marshall County
Mayes County
McClain County
McCurtain County
McIntosh County
Murray County
Muskogee County
Noble County
Okfuskee County
Oklahoma County
Okmulgee County
Osage County
Ottawa County
Pawnee County
Payne County
Pittsburg County
Pontotoc County
Pottawatomie County
Pushmataha County
Roger Mills County
Rogers County
Seminole County
Sequoyah County
Stephens County
Texas County
Tillman County
Tulsa County
Wagoner County
Washington County
Washita County
Woods County
Woodward County

To find out more about the Oklahoma Historical Society Historical Marker Program or how to submit an application, please visit the Historical Marker Program page.

Marker Application Process

Missing or Damaged Markers
Please use our online form to report missing or damaged historical markers.

Report Missing or Damaged Markers