Home |   About OHS |  Historical Marker Program

Historical Marker Program

Search Results

Your search returned 4 results.

100th Meridian

Harmon County
Location: on US-6, four miles west of Hollis (DAR)
Sponsored by: Daughters of the American Revolution
Topics: Government, Westward Expansion 1803–1861

Now the Oklahoma-Texas border, the 100th Meridian was part of the disputed boundary between Spanish territory and the vast Louisiana Purchase, a boundary solidified by the Adams-Onis Treaty in 1819.

La Casa School

Harmon County
Location: on US-62, three miles east of Hollis
Material: Granite
Topics: Education, Early Statehood 1907–1941

The La Casa School was formed in 1925 by consolidating three schools: Mesquite, Star Valley, and Bearden. The first class graduated in 1928. The school closed in 1957.

Ron School

Harmon County
Location: on OK-30, seven miles north of Hollis
Material: Granite
Topics: Education, Early Statehood 1907–1941

The Ron School began in 1939 with the consolidation of schools at Dryden, McKnight, Metcalf, and Teacross. The last class graduated in 1964 when the school became part of the Hollis Public Schools.


Harmon County
Location: on OK-9 in Vinson
Topics: Government, Early Statehood 1907–1941, Education, Modern Period 1982–present

A post office was established here on August 20, 1903, named for Henry B. Vinson, the owner of the townsite. The Vinson School closed in 1964 after serving children for decades from the surrounding communities of Cave Creek, Independence, Union Grove, Madge, Opal, Carl, Sulphur, Union Hill, Hurst, Hackberry, and Elm Valley.

(Page 1 of 1)

Search for Markers

Search by keyword or browse by county to learn about more than 600 historical markers created to recognize key locations, events, and people in Oklahoma history.

Please note that some markers listed in this database may have been moved, damaged, or are no longer standing.

Browse by County

Latimer County
Le Flore County
Lincoln County
Logan County
Love County
Marshall County
Mayes County
McClain County
McCurtain County
McIntosh County
Murray County
Muskogee County
Noble County
Okfuskee County
Oklahoma County
Okmulgee County
Osage County
Ottawa County
Pawnee County
Payne County
Pittsburg County
Pontotoc County
Pottawatomie County
Pushmataha County
Roger Mills County
Rogers County
Seminole County
Sequoyah County
Stephens County
Texas County
Tillman County
Tulsa County
Wagoner County
Washington County
Washita County
Woods County
Woodward County

To find out more about the Oklahoma Historical Society Historical Marker Program or how to submit an application, please visit the Historical Marker Program page.

Marker Application Process

Missing or Damaged Markers
Please use our online form to report missing or damaged historical markers.

Report Missing or Damaged Markers

Contact Us

If you have questions, please contact:
Matthew Pearce
Oklahoma Historical Society
800 Nazih Zuhdi Drive
Oklahoma City, OK 73105