Home |   About OHS |  Historical Marker Program

Historical Marker Program

Search Results

Your search returned 3 results.

Peter Folsom

Haskell County
Location: in Keota (OBHC)
Topics: Religion/Philosophy, American Indians

Reverend Peter Folsom was instrumental in the establishment of the First Choctaw Baptist Church.

Sinking of the J. R. Williams

Haskell County
Location: on OK-9, four miles east of Stigler
Topics: Military, Industry/Business, Indian and Frontier Trade, Territorial Period 1861–1907, American Indians, Transportation

On June 15, 1864, Confederate forces led by Brigadier General Stand Watie captured and sunk the Union steamboat J. R. Williams on the Arkansas River. The cargo was valued at $120,000. Southern troops included Choctaws, Chickasaws, Creeks, and Seminoles in what is known as the most inland naval battle of the Civil War.

Tamaha Jail and Ferry Landing

Haskell County
Location: on OK-9, four miles east of Stigler
Topics: Transportation, American Indians, Government, Westward Expansion 1803–1861, Territorial Period 1861–1907

Tamaha was an important port and ferry crossing on the Arkansas River in the 1830s. Steamboats brought Choctaw Indians from the Mississippi River up the Arkansas to Tamaha in 1831. The post office opened in 1884 and a jail was built at Tamaha in 1886. The last steamboat touched at Tamaha Landing in 1912.

(Page 1 of 1)

Search for Markers

Search by keyword or browse by county to learn about more than 600 historical markers created to recognize key locations, events, and people in Oklahoma history.

Please note that some markers listed in this database may have been moved, damaged, or are no longer standing.

Browse by County

Latimer County
Le Flore County
Lincoln County
Logan County
Love County
Marshall County
Mayes County
McClain County
McCurtain County
McIntosh County
Murray County
Muskogee County
Noble County
Okfuskee County
Oklahoma County
Okmulgee County
Osage County
Ottawa County
Pawnee County
Payne County
Pittsburg County
Pontotoc County
Pottawatomie County
Pushmataha County
Roger Mills County
Rogers County
Seminole County
Sequoyah County
Stephens County
Texas County
Tillman County
Tulsa County
Wagoner County
Washington County
Washita County
Woods County
Woodward County

To find out more about the Oklahoma Historical Society Historical Marker Program or how to submit an application, please visit the Historical Marker Program page.

Marker Application Process

Missing or Damaged Markers
Please use our online form to report missing or damaged historical markers.

Report Missing or Damaged Markers

Contact Us

If you have questions, please contact:
Matthew Pearce
Oklahoma Historical Society
800 Nazih Zuhdi Drive
Oklahoma City, OK 73105