Home |   About OHS |  Historical Marker Program

Historical Marker Program

Search Results

Your search returned 9 results.

Dave Blue Trading Post

Cleveland County
Location: on OK-9 in Norman
Topics: American Indians, Indian and Frontier Trade

Dave Blue was a trader in the 1870s who hired Cherokee and Creeks to kill wild buffalo. Blue shipped the hides to Atoka for transportation to market in the eastern United States. Blue's trading post was built along the Arbuckle Cattle Trail.

March of the Dragoons

Cleveland County
Location: on US-77 in Noble just south of Maguire Road
Topics: Military, American Indians, Westward Expansion 1803–1861

Captain Nathan Boone, son of pioneer legend Daniel Boone, led 100 men and officers on an expedition to gather information about the Plains Indians. The 1843 expedition camped near this site.

Norman's Camp

Cleveland County
Location: on US-77, 1/2 mile north of intersection with OK-9
Topics: Government, Transportation, Settlement Patterns

This is the camp site of Abner Norman, a member of an 1873 survey party in Indian Territory. Members of his party burned "Norman's Camp" into a large elm at the site. The Norman Station was on the Santa Fe Railroad (1886–1889) and later the town of Norman took his name.

Oklahoma's Pioneer Oil City

Cleveland County
Topics: Petroleum, Territorial Period 1861–1907, American Indians, Land Openings

On July 2, 1904, the Lowery #1 came in just south of Cleveland, opening the Cleveland Sand and creating Oklahoma's first oil boom town. Here also was Jordan's Fort, built in 1886 by Colonel J. W. Jordan, Cherokee agent and deputy US marshal, to keep Boomers out of the Cherokee Outlet.

Run of '89 South Boundary

Cleveland County
Location: on US-77 at east end of South Canadian River bridge in Lexington
Topics: Settlement Patterns, Land Openings, Territorial Period 1861–1907

The South Canadian River was the south boundary line for the Unassigned Lands in central Oklahoma opened to settlement on April 22, 1889, in the first of five land runs in Oklahoma.

The City of Norman and the Cleveland County Historical Museum

Cleveland County
Topics: Family/Household, Settlement Patterns, Land Openings, Territorial Period 1861–1907

Constructed in 1895, six years after the 1889 Run, this house, known as the Harry Lindsey Home, has been restored as a classic example of pre-statehood architecture.

The Jacobson House

Cleveland County
Location: 609 Chautauqua, Norman
Sponsored by: The Jacobson Foundation
Material: Aluminum
Topics: Arts, Early Statehood 1907–1941, Industrial Period 1841–1892, American Indians

The home of Swedish born artist Oscar B. Jacobson and Jeanne d'Ucel became a center for international celebrities, artists and writers from 1918–1966. Jacobson, director of the OU School of Art from 1915–1945, revolutionized art education in Oklahoma. He is also credited with nurturing the "renaissance" of American Indian painting on the Southern Plains in the 1920s.

University of Oklahoma

Cleveland County
Location: at 206 West Main in Norman
Material: Aluminum
Topics: Education, Government, Social/Cultural

The University of Oklahoma was established by the first Territorial Legislature in 1890 and classes began in 1892. Cleveland County, Oklahoma Territory, contributed $10,000 and citizens of Norman donated forty acres for the campus. David Ross Boyd was the first president.

Washington Irving Campsite

Cleveland County
Location: on OK-9 in Little Axe Park ten miles east of Norman (DAR)
Sponsored by: Daughters of the American Revolution
Topics: Arts, Settlement Patterns, Westward Expansion 1803–1861

Noted American author Washington Irving and his party camped near Norman on his tour of the prairies in 1832, giving the outside world its first glimpse at the land that would become Oklahoma.

(Page 1 of 1)

Search for Markers

Search by keyword or browse by county to learn about more than 600 historical markers created to recognize key locations, events, and people in Oklahoma history.

Please note that some markers listed in this database may have been moved, damaged, or are no longer standing.

Browse by County

Latimer County
Le Flore County
Lincoln County
Logan County
Love County
Marshall County
Mayes County
McClain County
McCurtain County
McIntosh County
Murray County
Muskogee County
Noble County
Okfuskee County
Oklahoma County
Okmulgee County
Osage County
Ottawa County
Pawnee County
Payne County
Pittsburg County
Pontotoc County
Pottawatomie County
Pushmataha County
Roger Mills County
Rogers County
Seminole County
Sequoyah County
Stephens County
Texas County
Tillman County
Tulsa County
Wagoner County
Washington County
Washita County
Woods County
Woodward County

To find out more about the Oklahoma Historical Society Historical Marker Program or how to submit an application, please visit the Historical Marker Program page.

Marker Application Process

Missing or Damaged Markers
Please use our online form to report missing or damaged historical markers.

Report Missing or Damaged Markers

Contact Us

If you have questions, please contact:
Matthew Pearce
Oklahoma Historical Society
800 Nazih Zuhdi Drive
Oklahoma City, OK 73105