Home |   About OHS |  Historical Marker Program

Historical Marker Program

Search Results

Your search returned 3 results.

Burney Institute
Marshall County
Location: on OK-32, 1 1/2 miles east of Lebanon
Material: Aluminum
The school was opened as a learning center for Chickasaw girls in 1859 under the supervision of the Cumberland Presbyterian Board. In 1887, the name was changed to Chickasaw Orphan Home and Manual Labor School. The first post office, called Burney Academy, opened on July 3, 1860.

Camp Leavenworth
Marshall County
Location: on US-70 at west side of Kingston
Material: Aluminum
This frontier post was named for Brigadier General Henry Leavenworth, commander of the Dragoon Expedition through Oklahoma in 1834. Leavenworth died nearby after being injured in a buffalo hunt. Some historians call the 1834 expedition the greatest expeditionary force in the annals of the US Army.

Red River Bridge
Marshall County
Location: in Colbert City Park, Colbert, Oklahoma
The Red River bridge, constructed in 1931, was the site where Oklahoma Governor William H. "Alfalfa Bill" Murray defied a federal court injunction and stood with National Guard troops to make the toll bridge a free bridge. It became the first free bridge across the Red River. The structure was replaced with a new bridge in 1996.

(Page 1 of 1)

Search for Markers

Search by keyword or browse by county to learn about more than 600 historical markers created to recognize key locations, events, and people in Oklahoma history.

Please note that some markers listed in this database may have been moved, damaged, or are no longer standing.

Browse by County

Latimer County
Le Flore County
Lincoln County
Logan County
Love County
Marshall County
Mayes County
McClain County
McCurtain County
McIntosh County
Murray County
Muskogee County
Noble County
Okfuskee County
Oklahoma County
Okmulgee County
Osage County
Ottawa County
Pawnee County
Payne County
Pittsburg County
Pontotoc County
Pottawatomie County
Pushmataha County
Roger Mills County
Rogers County
Seminole County
Sequoyah County
Stephens County
Texas County
Tillman County
Tulsa County
Wagoner County
Washington County
Washita County
Woods County
Woodward County

To find out more about the Oklahoma Historical Society Historical Marker Program or how to submit an application, please visit the Historical Marker Program page.

Marker Application Process

Missing or Damaged Markers
Please use our online form to report missing or damaged historical markers.

Report Missing or Damaged Markers