Home |   About OHS |  Historical Marker Program

Historical Marker Program

Search Results

Your search returned 4 results.


Pontotoc County
Location: at the intersection of US-177 and OK-1
Topics: Retail, Mass Communication, Government, Urban Development, Territorial Period 1861–1907

Ada began in 1890 when William Jefferson Reed built a log store and dwelling. A post office was established on July 10, 1891, and named for Reed's oldest daughter, Ada. The city was incorporated in 1901 and became the county seat of Pontotoc County at statehood.

Delaware Mount

Pontotoc County
Location: on OK-1, two miles south of Ada
Topics: Environmental/Cultural Ecology, Transportation, Westward Expansion 1803–1861

This natural plateau divides the headwaters of the Muddy Boggy and Clear Boggy creeks. From the top of the divide, travelers on the old California Road had a clear view of pristine wilderness.

Natural Mound

Pontotoc County
Location: on OK-1 northeast of Fitzhugh
Topics: Transportation, Westward Expansion 1803–1861, Military, Environmental/Cultural Ecology

A famous landmark on the California Road through Oklahoma, the high hill was shown on the map made by Captain Randolph Marcy in 1849. A major reference point on several surveys, the site became a triangulation station for the US Coast and Geodetic Survey.

Osage Village

Pontotoc County
Location: on OK-1, 3 1/2 miles southwest of Allen
Note: Marker reported damaged/faded on 3/28/2023
Topics: American Indians, MilitaryWestward Expansion 1803–1861

This early Osage encampment contained more than 300 inhabitants. Chief Black Dog, seven feet tall and blind in one eye, was the leader of the Osage who welcomed General Henry Leavenworth and his First Dragoons on a peace expedition to the area in 1834.

(Page 1 of 1)

Search for Markers

Search by keyword or browse by county to learn about more than 600 historical markers created to recognize key locations, events, and people in Oklahoma history.

Please note that some markers listed in this database may have been moved, damaged, or are no longer standing.

Browse by County

Latimer County
Le Flore County
Lincoln County
Logan County
Love County
Marshall County
Mayes County
McClain County
McCurtain County
McIntosh County
Murray County
Muskogee County
Noble County
Okfuskee County
Oklahoma County
Okmulgee County
Osage County
Ottawa County
Pawnee County
Payne County
Pittsburg County
Pontotoc County
Pottawatomie County
Pushmataha County
Roger Mills County
Rogers County
Seminole County
Sequoyah County
Stephens County
Texas County
Tillman County
Tulsa County
Wagoner County
Washington County
Washita County
Woods County
Woodward County

To find out more about the Oklahoma Historical Society Historical Marker Program or how to submit an application, please visit the Historical Marker Program page.

Marker Application Process

Missing or Damaged Markers
Please use our online form to report missing or damaged historical markers.

Report Missing or Damaged Markers

Contact Us

If you have questions, please contact:
Matthew Pearce
Oklahoma Historical Society
800 Nazih Zuhdi Drive
Oklahoma City, OK 73105