Home |   About OHS |  Historical Marker Program

Historical Marker Program

Search Results

Your search returned 4 results.

Beaver County
Beaver County
Location: on OK-23 and US-270 in Beaver
Material: Granite
Located on the site was a two-story frame building that served as the meeting place in March 1887 for organizing the area known as "No Man's Land" into "Cimarron Territory." The area was inhabited by ranchers, cowboys, outlaws, and settlers looking for homes. The effort to create Cimarron Territory failed, but No Man's Land became Beaver County, the seventh county of Oklahoma Territory, in 1890. At statehood in 1907, Beaver County was divided into Beaver, Texas, and Cimarron Counties.

Beaver County
Location: on US-270, two miles east of Forgan
This Spanish explorer is popularly noted as Oklahoma's first tourist, passing through Beaver County in 1541 to reach Quivira on the Arkansas River north of present-day Oklahoma.

No Man's Land
Beaver County
Location: on OK-23, eight miles south of Elmwood
See Beaver County

No Man's Land
Beaver County
Location: on OK-3, six miles east of Slapout
See Beaver County

(Page 1 of 1)

Search for Markers

Search by keyword or browse by county to learn about more than 600 historical markers created to recognize key locations, events, and people in Oklahoma history.

Please note that some markers listed in this database may have been moved, damaged, or are no longer standing.

Browse by County

Latimer County
Le Flore County
Lincoln County
Logan County
Love County
Marshall County
Mayes County
McClain County
McCurtain County
McIntosh County
Murray County
Muskogee County
Noble County
Okfuskee County
Oklahoma County
Okmulgee County
Osage County
Ottawa County
Pawnee County
Payne County
Pittsburg County
Pontotoc County
Pottawatomie County
Pushmataha County
Roger Mills County
Rogers County
Seminole County
Sequoyah County
Stephens County
Texas County
Tillman County
Tulsa County
Wagoner County
Washington County
Washita County
Woods County
Woodward County