Home |   About OHS |  Historical Marker Program

OHS Historical Marker Program

If you would like to learn more about the OHS Historical Marker Program or how to submit an application, please visit the OHS Historical Marker Program page.

Marker Application Process

Search Results

Your search returned 7 results.

Burneyville School
Love County
The school, once known as Red River School, was a subscription school when it was founded in 1880s It closed in 1957.
Located on OK-96 in Burneyville

Courtney School
Love County
Originally serving students in the town of Courtney, the school closed in 1928 when the county border changed and several small schools were consolidated.
Located on OK-32, 3 1/4 miles east of Jefferson County line

Edmund Pickens
Love County
Born in Mississippi, Pickens came west with the Chickasaws in 1837 and was their first elected chief after the nation removed to Indian Territory. Pickens County in the Chickasaw Nation was named for him.
Located on OK-32 at Ennville

Enon Baptist Association
Love County
In August 1885, the Enon Baptist Association was founded at Wilson Creek Church in the Chickasaw Nation.
Located at Leon Baptist Church in Leon (OBHC)

Love County Courthouse
Love County
The cornerstone of the first county courthouse built after statehood was laid on April 29, 1910.
Located on OK-32 east of US-77 junction

Meadowbrook School
Love County
This community school served area children from 1930 to 1958. It was created when schools from the Bowles, Eastman, Marsden, and New Hope districts were consolidated.
Located on county road, three miles north and three miles west of Marietta

Post Oak School
Love County
The Post Oak school existed from 1916 to 1950 and was part of a joint district that served students in Love and Carter Counties.
Located on OK-76, 17 miles west and nine miles north of Marietta

(Page 1 of 1)

Search for Markers

Search by keyword or browse by county to learn about more than 600 historical markers created to recognize key locations, events, and people in Oklahoma history.

Please note that some markers listed in this database may have been moved, damaged, or are no longer standing.

Browse by County

Le Flore County
Lincoln County
Logan County
Love County
Major County
Marshall County
Mayes County
McClain County
McCurtain County
McIntosh County
Murray County
Muskogee County
Noble County
Nowata County
Okfuskee County
Oklahoma County
Okmulgee County
Osage County
Ottawa County
Pawnee County
Payne County
Pittsburg County
Pontotoc County
Pottawatomie County
Pushmataha County
Roger Mills County
Rogers County
Seminole County
Sequoyah County
Stephens County
Texas County
Tillman County
Tulsa County
Wagoner County
Washington County
Washita County
Woods County
Woodward County